My Amuse-Bouche

It’s almost time  – that time again

When I can pick and choose

A salmon steak, a cold boiled egg –

Ma bouche will be amused.

To rid my palate of that taste

That taste which I do dread

Becomes my goal, my aim, my fight

I’d prefer most anything instead –

Seven horse pills I swallow whole

And gag with every one

To keep the cancer well at bay

I’ll continue till I’m done

The acrid smell, the vile taste

Lingers on my tongue

Until

The time arrives when I can eat

And that taste becomes undone.

Rejoice in food in which flavor reigns

Each morsel  – every one

To taste of life, to sip of wine

A pleasure second to none!

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to My Amuse-Bouche

  1. and I’ll raise a glass to that…

  2. Judy says:

    I love your humorous and light hearted approach to taking those humungous pills. What an annoying regimen! As if swallowing them wasn’t bad enough, I’m so sorry for the metallic aftertaste. Glad there are foods that push it away.
    I am taking a bunch of new supplements, too. It’s hard! Nothing like what you’re doing, but I totally relate to the gagging feeling as you start your day. I’m sure a funny poem is a better way of dealing with it than cursing lol!

    • inmycorner says:

      Well – I guess neither you nor I have any other “real” choice, do we? I’m sorry you have a bunch of new junk too…. it’s hard to face the pills for sure. In any case – thanks for the kudos on the poem – it seemed to come to me easily this morning.

  3. karen markovic says:

    Thinking of you!! I love great wholesome, healthy real food!!

  4. Raising a glass of deliciousness with the others, for you, Stacey!!!!

  5. Gallivanta says:

    Thank goodness there’s something delicious to think about!

  6. Gwen says:

    The poems keep coming. You are a fabulous cook, so if anyone can amuse your bouche, it is you. Happy that the pill taking is becoming routine, unhappy that they are leaving you with the metallic taste.

Leave a comment