The Person You’ve Become…

Dedicated to David, on the occasion of his 18th birthday!

I knew where you went and I knew who you were
I knew how you felt – before you grew bigger.

My baby, my boy, my sweet bundle of joy –
You were so easy to please when you played with your toys.

I held onto your hand and you walked by my side
You jumped in my arms with a smile oh so, so wide.

I carried you, sang to you, watched on as you grew
And I knew that one day these moments would grow few.

I watched and I waited and hugged on while I could
I loved you whole-heartedly as any mother should.

But the pebble had dropped and the ripple spread wide
As your life it unfolded with time on your side.

I measured your progress through life as it came
Through sports and through school and through each of your games.

The ripple grew wider as every day passed
And I knew this day would come upon me too fast.

Here you stand – my sweet baby boy –
No longer happy to simply just play with that toy.

The time it has come for me to let go –
And give you the courage and strength that you know

I hold for you always as you go on your way –
Into adulthood, independence, and have your own say.

What a miracle I’ve watched from your moment of birth –
There’s been no time to languish – no time to rehearse.

Yet – what perfection there is in your kindness and smile –
Still I hate that you beat me in chess once in a while.

You’re talented, unique, creative, and often wise –
And the hearts you can break with those Arctic – blue eyes!

If I could just see through that lens to your soul –
To know what awaits you, to see how life unfolds!

But, my eyes are now bleary as I move further away –
And though gladly I do so – I wish that one day…

My ripple return as I come back into view –
And our paths cross again with the boy I once knew.

Who are you now that you’ve grown up so far –
That there are times when I have to borrow my own car!

My gift to you, son, on your eighteenth birthday –
Is to hug you with words and with words I will say…

“You are my heart and my soul, and the life that I bake –
Happy birthday, sweet David, may that cat lick your cake!”

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Person You’ve Become…

  1. Judy says:

    Oh, Stacey, this is simply beautiful – you made me teary! Heartfelt, infused with your love – this poem will be something I know David will always treasure.

    • inmycorner says:

      Judy – thank you so much. And for always being MY cheer-leader – someone I will always treasure.

      • Judy says:

        You are so welcome, Stacey. I treasure you, too.
        I think you and I can relate to how much we miss our parents being our cheerleaders.
        Yesterday was poignant for me because it was my blogging anniversary. 11 years! I could not have imagined when I started writing my blog where I would be today.

      • inmycorner says:

        Wow – that is a long time ! It has been so healing for me and I know for you too. Funny – I was not sure how I felt about my son having “virtual” friends, until I realized I had some of my own. Look how trendy we are – never having met and still have such a strong, long friendship! Congrats on 11 years and so happy to have met you!

Leave a comment