God’s Symphony

This morning, I had front row seats to God’s Symphony.   It was a symphony of sight and sound that was being performed for just me.

The curtain rose slowly to reveal the splendor of the orchestral cacophony.  The movement began with a cardinal who sat perched at the tip of our red maple tree.  This brilliant, red bird began with a series of trills shortly accompanied by a ray of gentle sun that turned up the bird’s volume ever so slightly.  Off in the distance, the pounding rhythm of the downy wood-pecker enmeshed with the beat of my heart – both in unison – both bringing life to life.  A red-winged black bird offered a staccato that served as an unexpected interruption to the building of the plot of the day.  Into the harmony, chirped the little golden finches.  Meanwhile, the backdrop shifted colour from dawn pink to warm orange.  The sun, in its full glory,  entered slowly onto the scene.  The music began to grow and crescendo as the day grew further along its score.  A trebled chick-a-dee stole the score for a second or two.  It was, however, to last only long enough until the cardinal hammered out its ever-so-familiar chorus.  There is was – the dawn – in full unison.

I turned to face the orchestra and decided to linger where I was to enjoy the show for just a few more minutes.  I listened to the blood rush in my ears once again.  I was alive.  The world was waking up and so was I.  “Wake up, Stacey!” the birds called to me.  “Wake up, Stacey!” the sun’s rays reached out to shake me.  “Wake up, Stacey!  You will miss the show!”

Once again, I lifted my eyelids to the splendor of the morning.  “Thank-you for this day!”  I repeated my mantra out loud.  I felt privileged to be here – in this sacred moment – the dawn.  I needed to wake up, to get up, to be alert.  After-all, I had been invited, as a special guest, to God’s Symphony – the music of my day.

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in cancer, diary, inspiration, music, prose and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to God’s Symphony

  1. Gwen K says:

    Beautiful.

  2. Dawna says:

    Oh what a wonderful mantra—God’s world awakes and sings its song for you

  3. pepe says:

    What a great post Stacey…!! enjoy the God’s symphony

  4. pepe says:

    I love how you co-relate your beautiful morning to an orchestra..

  5. Gallivanta says:

    Joyous! Is your beautiful Ben home?

Leave a Reply

