Ah, La Pluie!

The sudden purge of angry skies
The sodden path of muck
The sonorous beat upon the roof
And I become unstuck

A burst of lighting in the air
An angry crack of words
A turbulent ride of feelings fly
The flock of startled birds

The storm does rage upon the land
Confusion marks the way
Like daggers shot from fists clenched tight
The nerves of steel do fray

Take cover from the storm anon
Take solace in the flight
For after the rain, the pause takes place
And day does turn to night

Slowly chaos finds its groove
And fury finds its peace
The gentle rain begins to fall
From Heavens full of Grace

To quench anew the desperate thirst
To replenish and replace
My bucket fills, so once again
My challenges I do face

I pause, I think, I find my path
My purpose to reveal
This storm that once raged deep within
Has now a new appeal

Without the rain, there is no life
Without dark, there is no light
I see the other side of things
Without wrong there is no right

I step outside to feel the drops
As they tumble upon my soul
And cleanse away my mortal wounds
Yes – life has had its toll

The joy of rain still sings to me
Until the time does come
When I no longer fill my cup
When I know my life is done

So – vive la pluie, long live the rain
Let us savour every drip
Let us invite the storms, the rain, the calm
… And then let’s find our grip!

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Cancer Journey, cancer, challenges, celebration and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ah, La Pluie!

  1. Gwen says:

    Wow. Great metaphors. Love the images you’ve painted with your words.

  2. Judy says:

    What incredible metaphors, Stacey. I love your descriptive use of language. I can almost picture your drenched from the rain, but looking up to the heavens with gratitude. This is definitely a poem to savor.

Leave a Reply

