Hugs

Hugs to the Mothers who hugged us tight
Who held our hands and kissed us good-night

Hugs to the Mothers who are in our dreams
To some are icons, heroes, maybe even our memes!

Hugs to the Mothers whose lessons remain
Firmly and deeply entrenched in our brain

Our mothers, our grandmas, our aunts, and our friends
Remain our care-givers straight through till our ends

Hugs to the Mothers who have long since gone
Who may not be here with us – but whose memory still lives on

The teacher, the nurse, the provider, the calm
So blessed to have known you and to have called you my Mom!

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in appreciation, attitude, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Hugs

  1. Judy says:

    A perfect way for me to start my Mother’s Day – reading one of your inspirational poems. Thank you, Stacey, and wishing you a wonderful day. 🙂

  2. Kathy McPherson says:

    Lovely 😊 Happy Mothers Day

  3. Gwen says:

    What a wonderful tribute to all those strong women who have been in your life and to those who still remain. It is awe inspiring to have so many strong women to have as inspiration (yourself included).

  4. a beautiful tribute

  5. This was wonderful Stacey!!!!! Happy Mother’s Day!!!! (And still waiting on that kitchen dance!)

  6. karen markovic says:

    Beautiful…..hope you were spoiled with love!

  7. Hi Stacey. I’ve received the Versatile Blogger Award and am passing the honor on to you. Plesse don’t feel obligated but if you’d like to accept, check my blog for details https://christinegoodnough.com.

Leave a Reply

