Snowflakes in Spring

This post is dedicated to my dear friend, Thelma.  Oh, how I wished you could see these flowers for yourself… and so many other things this spring will bring.  I will watch them for you…

And just outside, the flowers bloom
No longer housed in their winter tomb
A robin sucks it juicy meal
From the ground with such great zeal

Just outside, the ground does swell
It’s secret treasures soon will tell
The tale of darkness turned to light
The start of day – the end of night

Oh, such promise is the spring
Such rich aromas it does bring
If I could reach beyond the door
Then out there, my spirit would soar

I rest.  I stay.  I sleep.  I dream.
Beneath the surface – so it may seem
I cannot rise, I cannot run
Yet I feel the touch of sun

I rise.  I fall.  I am but new
Today’s next challenge:  what shall I do?
Reflections linger, wander, rise
What is this body but disguise?

What will this day reveal to me?
Will my emotions be set free?
I loved, I listened, I hugged, I’ve heard
I’ve pondered carefully on every word

I’ve done my best, the best I could
As much as any mother should
I want to know that you’re okay
I think I’ve said all I could say

I think I’m ready, I’m prepared
So many moments that we’ve shared
I am the flower, I will bloom
I will not be shackled in winter’s tomb

I am there in spring’s soft arms
Enveloped by her innocent charm
I rise from earth to kiss the sun
I’ve broken ground, life’s just begun…

With much love!  I will miss you.

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in Poetry, spring, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Snowflakes in Spring

  1. Gwen says:

    Another beautiful poem. I’m in awe my friend.

  2. Nice verse. So many layers of meaning here! We’ve had two white “blankets” tossed on us this week, so no spring flowers here yet. 😦

  3. full of love and hope

  4. karen markovic says:

    Lovely……

  5. Judy says:

    This is unbelievably beautiful, Stacey. Such rich metaphors. You are like spring!

Leave a Reply

