The Last Martini

You don’t know when it will be the last one.

Honest.

You don’t know when you will have the opportunity to say, “Gosh, I’ve enjoyed that”, and to not be able to say that again.

So – the lesson is – always enjoy as though it is the last.

That’s not a fatalistic view – it is honest.  And it it pragmatic. There is nothing wrong with that.

Today marks the birthday of one of my favorite aunts.  Honestly, if someone were to ask me who was my favorite, I’d not be able to name her. They all had their moments.  They were all very special. And they all played very different roles in my life.  Some were more supportive than others – some more entertaining.  And Auntie Helen – well… she was the quintessential entertainer.

I have to be honest that I am tired tonight – but I feel the need to recognize this amazing person whom I have enjoyed.  Yes, I would say, gosh I’ve enjoyed her.

One would think that it would be impossible to enjoy someone who has “gone” – but that would not be the truth.  I enjoy her memories  I enjoy thinking about her – and laughing out loud about the time Ron, Auntie Helen, and I spent together – drinking martinis.  Three olives were better than two. And laughter was the elixir of the day.

Happy birthday, Auntie Helen.  Still love you!

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Last Martini

  1. Judy says:

    So great to read your writing again, Stacey. I love how you celebrate life in so many profound ways. It seems that mortality allows for that versus living with denial. I can easily imagine your aunt beaming down on you from above!

    • inmycorner says:

      Ha – guess you spoke too soon, Judy – took a long time for this next post to come. I’ve not had the energy to write, lately. Fatigue has set in. For some reason it was easier to write in third person today – have you ever experienced that?

      • Judy says:

        I sure have. I have had more and more lapses with expressing myself recently. I wrote a lot in 3rd person – even had a song named “Music from her Heart,” which I changed to first person after several years. I have a bunch of stories I used to write where I was a Princess, lol!
        The main thing is to allow for whatever is most helpful. Pressure shuts me down, so I think 3rd person was a relief for me, too.
        Sorry to hear about your fatigue. I haven’t read your new post yet, but I hope it will pass soon. I know you’re a very energetic woman (from your home improvement projects). It must be very frustrating.
        Thinking of you. 🙂
        Ps. I plan to get back on my writing horse soon, too!

      • inmycorner says:

        Wow – well, I’m glad to hear that such an accomplished and balanced person like you has had this experience, although, sorry you went through that too. May steal / borrow the idea of the princess – love it! Funny how it helps you to get through a clog, eh? It is frustrating – probably more imposing that the chemo at this point. Hard to do anything. But – I will try to enjoy the “rest”. Yes – do get back on that horse! Let’s both do that – if we are both princesses then we can both enjoy our castles and (K)nights.
        much love to you!

      • Judy says:

        You are more than welcome to steal it. I believe I wrote as a Princess to explain my elevated and inspired feelings about music – during a time I was suffering with terrible guilt over choosing to divorce. My ex-husband was “the dragon.” If you want to peak, on the right side of my blog it says “Princess Stories.”
        Writing in 3rd person does allow for detachment. Because if I wrote it from a personal perspective, it would be too heartbreaking.
        And because I went from a huge home to a tiny apartment (and I’ve even had to deal with rats, lately) – I feel like I’m not a spoiled Princess either!
        Good luck, Stacey. Even writing blocks and fatigue help us to appreciate those amazing creative bursts we long for!

      • inmycorner says:

        Oh – wow Judy. Rats??? Egad. That is indeed not princess material. I will take a peek. I get the inspiration now for princess… thanks. And yes I need to remember that seeing black reminds me there is white.

      • Judy says:

        It was crazy how I mentioned I wrote as a Princess before I even saw your post and you mentioned Princess – eerie!
        Honestly, I am trying to get away from thinking and seeing in black and white. So when you see black – think lots of shades of color! White is just another version of black – the best reality is filled with many shades and ways of seeing things. Less judgement – more acceptance!

  2. Gallivanta says:

    Aunties are wonderful. Most of mine (I am including the great aunts ) didn’t drink but a few of them liked beer and whisky. Hopefully you can drink a margarita to celebrate your Auntie Helen’s birthday.

  3. Jan says:

    What a wonderful tribute, for a lovely lady, Stacey.

Leave a Reply

