Cerebral Squalls

They come and blow your mind away
They make mountains of your thoughts
They will gather strong in billowed clouds
You will find yourself distraught

The sky can blacken all around
Will cause your heart to race
You fear the wrath the clouds may bring
As you quicken up your pace

Then as quickly as it came
It moves along the sky
And out of view the squall does pass
To leave you high and dry

You feel the warmth upon your face
It melts and thaws your mind
You stop and pause and close your eyes
To leave the past behind

The moment seems to slow right down
Life stops and takes a breath
Living in the here and now
Gives minute of brain refresh

Then

There is it, yet once again
The storm is suddenly nigh
You’ve seen it once, you’ll see it again
And know it will pass by

Cerebral squalls like internal storms
Come and pass at will
Neither you, nor I nor, nor shelter strong
Can save us from this drill

Mother Nature teaches well
To expect that there’ll be storms
To build a refuge in our mind
As shelter when they form

As quickly as the snow arrives
We know this too shall pass
And lead to clear skies soon, my friend
When the sun will warm our ass

 

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in humor, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cerebral Squalls

  1. Hi, Stacey. Oh, don’t I know exactly what you’re saying here! Thankfully the effects of chemo, too, shall pass. May I reblog this?

  2. Judy says:

    Oh, Stacey – you are so witty and this poem had me cracking up at the end (I guess that goes with an ass lol!)
    It’s clear that you enjoy writing. Your poem definitely makes for a sunny day so matter what the weather is. πŸ™‚

    • inmycorner says:

      Ha ha ha – I giggled at the turn of fate at the end of the poem. Thank you. I do enjoy writing – especially to surprise. I’m happy to help others find the sun, my friend. THanks – as always – for supporting.

  3. Reblogged this on Christine's Collection and commented:
    I remember the days, after I was done with my chemo-therapy treatments — the first time round, 36 years ago. I recall the times when these dark storm clouds would roll over my mind and everything looked so hopeless. Some chemo treatments are largely hormonal, so they mess yours up so bad.
    Blogger Stacey LePage describes these times so effectively in her poem and has kindly permitted me to share it with you.

  4. Gallivanta says:

    Nothing like a bit of sun on the bum! Actually I was once told that there are pressure points on the glutes which help relieve stress in the head. No idea if that is true but I find that if my rear end is warm and comfortable the rest of me functions better! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

