The Writing on The Wall

At times it seems so far away
At times it seems so near
The writing that is on the wall
Is nothing we should fear

Daytime light illuminates
The words that I can see
Yet never do I seem to know
Which word I think I’ll need

Night brings a darkness to the scroll
Sometimes comfort is at hand
I close my eyes and visualize
The footsteps in the sand

I don’t know why that wall it moves
Sometimes closer into view
I see the words, I see the lines
Enough to understand a few

Then, bam, away it moves so far away
That I forget it’s there
And live my life, enjoy each day
As though I’ve not a care

Still, when I am alone and time
Is given freely for me to think
I look up from what I’m doing and
I feel my soul can sink

There ahead – I see the wall
It stares right back at me
I read the lines, I read the script
I wish that I could flee

And just as quickly as it came
The wall recedes back out of view
At the distance, I no longer see
The words – a meager few

I know it’s there, I know the words
I know the day will come
But at this time and in this place
I’ve only just begun

At times, like these, so far away
At times, it is so near
The writing that is on the wall
Is nothing, today, to fear.

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Writing on The Wall

  1. Judy says:

    Wow, Stacey, that is a knock out poem. Yes, the writing on the wall . . .
    Feels like it’s not blocking your way – somehow you have examined it, scaled it, ignored it and embraced it. Just love the whole idea. Beautiful!

    • inmycorner says:

      Ha – woke up with these words in my head this morning. I had to get them on paper. Today – the wall moved further away. Kind of a neat concept – wanted to play with it further … still may. For now, though, I appreciate that you enjoyed. It spoke directly to me today.

  2. and always the footsteps… Blessings

  3. Gwen says:

    Wow. Just wow. (Hope the wall continues to distance itself most days, but I know some days it will jump out in front of you and try to trip you up. Hang in there.) LOVE this poem.

    • inmycorner says:

      Thanks, Gwen. I hope it remains distant, too. I had so many different versions for this poem this morning – thought I’d mention how the words – though there – remain unclear.

  4. Very visual Stacey. Very powerful. I hope that writing on the wall is something we have all written in joy and encouragement to cheer us on, and when the day comes, welcome us back.

Leave a Reply

