A Volleyball Prose

You know who you are – we spoke in the gym

Though your eyes were half closed with fatigue

A promise I made and a smile you bade

As we ducked from the volleyball besiege

“I’m tired”, you said as you bowed down your head

Your mother was less than content

She knew what you meant and her message she sent

So subtle is a mother’s true love

A bond that unites is a bond through the night

When the darkness is at its full prime

No challenge can break it – no obstacle face it

“Your life is not yours, but is mine”

Life’s lessons are learned, yet often we yearn

For our children to be spared from the pain

We watch and we wait yet we don’t hesitate

To offer them shelter from life’s rain

Beside her you sat and you laughed as you chat (ted)

The noise drilled her head … it did pound!

She stayed and she smiled as her boy went the mile

And drilled that ball to the ground.

Mother and daughter – a team such this

Their spirit is hard to deny

Opponents they beat – so handily unseat

As one voice, they bid troubles, “bye-bye”.

Yes, you know who you are – we spoke in the gym

Your eyes were so ready to close

A promise I made and a smile you bade

So my words have I put now prose!

 

 

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in family, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Volleyball Prose

  1. mandibelle16 says:

    I’m loving your poems! I can very much relate to this, being lucky enough to have that strong relationship with my Mom my best friend. I’m glad for this girl, her Mom is her best friend too. I’m sad she’s so tired. But it sounds like they are having fun at the game. Volleyball was so fun to play and it’s also great to watch. Hop you are doing well and had a great thanksgiving (if you’re in the US).

  2. Gallivanta says:

    Stacey? I am concerned about your silence. Hope all is well.

    • inmycorner says:

      You are magnificent, Gallivanta! Thank-you. I am tired. I have to pace myself and I’ve been focusing on Christmas. Pills make me tired. Overall – I’m fantastic. Your concern for me is deeply touching. I will write again soon – I have so many stories brewing. Thank – you!

  3. karen markovic says:

    Wishing you a very Merry Christmas and Happy Healthy New Year….I too was worried! Glad your doing well! Hugs…..

  4. Kathy McPherson says:

    Merry Christmas to you and your family Stacey and all the best in 2017 !!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

