The Frost is on the Pumpkin

As James Taylor so eloquently sang, “well, the frost is on the pumpkin and the hay is in the barn..”

I woke up this morning to frost on the roof.  Beautiful!  Simply beautiful.  A sign of cooler weather and crisp air.  I know there are many who will disagree with me, but I am tired of the heat.  I welcome the break, the respite from the suppressing humidity.  I can always warm up from the cold, but I find it very difficult to cool down from the heat.  In any case, I was so very happy to see the frost.

This is one of the many things for which I am thankful.  As my family sat around the dinner table last night, I paused to take a mental photo of the moment.  The moment was not one that I could have captured on film.  It was not capturable.  The snap shot I wanted was emotional.  I wanted to capture my feelings at that time.  Unlike the unbearable heat of summer, that moment was one of warmth, comfort, and acceptance.  As much as one tries to freeze the feeling, it passes.  There is talk of Donald Trump, the Blue Jays game, and the quick response of the gas company to repair a potential leak.   “We are so very lucky to be in Canada,” someone suggested.  There is no disputing that one.

Canada.

My home and native land.

Frost on the pumpkins.  Hay in the barn.  Opportunities to thrive, to be together, to eat in peace.  To live in peace.

We gathered around the dinner table with a full plate of food each.  Clean water at our disposal.  Wine.  Music.  Family.  Funny how we all came to be together, really.  Grandma was born in Suriname, Kevin in New Brunswick, I was born in Alberta.  Rita just moved back from Latvia, and Kristin from St. Catharines.  All parts of the world.  One table.  One family.  Where was Ben?  Thunder Bay.  Missing.

Until Katya called me downstairs to join her on a Skype call to Ben.  My heart swelled to hear that she had missed his presence at the table and decided to call him.  Thanksgiving is just not complete without all three children being home.  There he was.  Done.  “Hi, Mom!”

Yes, I am thankful for family – and moreover the opportunity to gather.  To be a family is one thing – to be together is another.  To share moments is key.  One set of eyes is lonely.  To share with someone else is divine.  To see the frost on the roof this morning means frost until it is expressed to David who responds, “YES!”  The moment becomes a memory – an emotional memory.  Divine.

Canada.  It is not simply my home and native land – it is ours.  It is our home and native land.  It is not just my family – it is ours.  It is not just my dinner – it is ours.  It is not just my vision of the morning, rather.. ours.

May your day be filled with shared experiences with loved ones.

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!

TTFN

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in gratitude, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Frost is on the Pumpkin

  1. Judy says:

    What beautiful images! I could feel the emotional warmth and am so happy for you, Stacey. Enjoy your day, which clearly you are. Family is everything!

  2. Enjoy your beautiful day, Stacey. Thanksgiving is a great time to appreciate the blessings of our year.

  3. beautiful moments. And we are happy to be living in New Zealand in these turbulent times. Happy Thanksgiving.

  4. Happy Thanksgiving Stacey! I’m thankful to know you 🙂

  5. Gwen says:

    Many things to be thankful for indeed. We are so very blessed to be a part of our home and native land. I feel that blessing daily as I look around and hear of the many things that are happening in the world. Listening to the stories of the young Syrian children who are at our school makes my heart ache for their parents and swell with gratitude that my children have never experienced such turmoil in their lives. Many blessings indeed.

  6. Gallivanta says:

    Lovely to catch up with your lovely Thanksgiving. We give thanks to Canada. 🙂

Leave a Reply

