Broccoli Soup

Why does broccoli stink so much?

I opened my refrigerator door yesterday to put in a new bag of carrots and BAM!  The smell was so over-powering it almost made me gag.  I feared looking at the broccoli as I was confident that it HAD to be rotten.  Into the fridge I reached to pull out the bag.  Who else would have done it?  Much to my surprise I found that the veggie was still firm and green.  No slime.  No mush.  All good.  What else to do with it other than to make soup?

And that’s how my morning began.  I made a fresh pot of broccoli soup.  It was warm, delicious, and full of vitamins.  Of course, what soup is any good without cheese.  So, other than the cheese this stinky broccoli was transformed into a work of gustatory art.  At least, I liked it.  Funny how something so magical can come from something so stinky.

That’s what I am hoping will happen to “me” when I begin my new pills.  I feel almost obsessed with them.  I’m sure that as soon as I stop thinking of them as something toxic and more like a vitamin or elixir of life, I will stop being so consumed with them.  I mean, whoop-dee-doo.  If I get sick, I’ll get better.  If I lose my appetite, it will come back.  If I feel gross, I’ll recover.  So.. in essence… all things pass and we heal.  Right?  It’s just that the first dose seems to be such an obstacle.  “It takes about three months to find the right balance, Stacey”, advised my drug nurse.

“Three months?  That’s a long time.”

“Yes.  But that is usually the longest.  And you may not need any adjustment at all.  You begin with 16 pills, but if that is too much, then we reduce your dose and see how that works.”

So, I am my own guinea pig.  But I will benefit.  In the end.  I need to find the balance between quality of life and medicinal benefits.  Easy.  The mental wall I have erected is so much more formidable than the actual drug regime.  I’m sure.  I hope.  It’s like broccoli soup.  The soup has so much more flavor when the broccoli is old and stinky.  No pain, no gain.  Right?  Right.

Yup – the pills are like vitamins.  And vitamins are good for you.  They help give us good health.  They work.  Take 8 in the morning and 8 at night.  That’s all.  Easy peasy.  Many people do it and I can too.  I need to take my vitamins.  Vitamins are good and broccoli soup is good.

Just one issue:  why do they have to be so big????

(A big bowl of broccoli soup yields more vitamins than a small bowl)

Right?

 

 

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in acceptance, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Broccoli Soup

  1. sharechair says:

    They are big? argh. Do you have to take them all at once or can you spread them out over time?
    I like your vitamin analogy. Because they WILL make you better, stronger, healthier. Perhaps…. take with ice cream???? 🙂

  2. Oh I love broccoli soup!!! Yes, the bigger the bowl, the more healthy stuff. 😉

  3. karen markovic says:

    Yum broccoli soup sounds delish…love soups, stews and chili this time of year especially homemade and fresh. Good luck with the pills…just think of them as a grape. Glad your doing well…

  4. karen markovic says:

    Meant to write into….sorry!

Leave a Reply

