Going for gold

Endurance.

Grit.

Resilience.

These are a few of the adjectives I’ve heard being used of late to describe the athletes who are competing in Brazil.  And rightfully so – I love the slow- motion images of the faces of the divers after their dive, the swimmers after they swim, and the gymnasts after they finish a routine.  Sheer joy – or sorrow – or pain.  Their faces tell a thousand stories of their training and the sacrifices they have made to get to where they are now.  Every line, every pore, every muscle tells a story.

Focus.

Sacrifice.

Belief.

Who wouldn’t want to be described by these adjectives?  We all have one life to live.  One life to choose how we will spend our time.  One chance to leave a legacy for future generations.  One chance to make a difference.  There is pressure to perform to make all the sacrifices worth it.  There is a cost, at the end of the day.  Is the price worth it?  

Diversity.

Similarity.

Unity.

Every athlete is so very different and yet, so very much alike.  Different sports, different colours of skin, same blood.  Different looks, different routines, same biology.

What makes one person so much stronger, faster than another?  What makes one person able to look beyond the sport to the future?  I love the athletes that can look beyond themselves to think of the team, to think of the appreciation they have for their lives, to be inclusive.  To be the best, to be the winner, to be “gold” and alone cannot be sustained.  “One” person will win.  “One” person will experience gold.  Is that isolating?  How can that be shared?  What’s the point of winning – if you are alone?  A win must be shared – somehow.

Endurance.

Grit.

Resilience.

There are “my” adjectives too.  They have to be in order for me to win my battle against cancer.

Focus.

Sacrifice.

Belief.

These are “my” adjectives too.  They have to be in order for me to win my battle against cancer.

What is the point of winning alone?  I am not in this battle alone – whether they like it or not, my friends and family train with me.  They support and encourage me.  I am not going to win gold – to be by myself.  What is the point?  I appreciate my team.  I am grateful for my life.  I thank God for the day.  And in my battle, it is every day that I take the podium to believe I have won the gold.

 

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in acceptance, attitude, cancer, exercise, faith, family, fitness and health, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Going for gold

  1. Gwen says:

    We’re all routing for you at attain gold, Stacey. Go for the gold!!

  2. Judy says:

    What a wonderful metaphor! Yes, I imagine you are sweating and working hard like an athlete as you go through the grueling chemo. Harder than the physical challenges are keeping the positive attitude about life. In that way, you’ve definitely won a gold medal. And it’s so beautiful that you see it as a team effort. Love is definitely fuel and so much love surrounds you!

  3. And you have. You are an inspiration.

  4. Harlon says:

    Dear Stacey, I agree with you and I loved your affirmation. You are golden to me! Harlon

  5. You need your own anthem to be blaring when you stand on that podium!!! YES!!!

Leave a Reply

