The Tourist

She was a tourist, folks did say

She stood on Toronto’s street

Her hat in hand, her smile was free

She knew that soon, she’d eat!

She was a tourist in many ways

A foreigner in this place

Through different eyes, she gazed upon

The glory of the human race.

So many people, so many kinds

Unique, but similar in ways

Their habits, thoughts, their teeth and smiles

Moved through their many days.

Suddenly –

A cancer appeared among the crowd

And roared it’s loud refrain

“See me, feel me, smell me… NOW

With you – I forever will remain!

Your freedom, thoughts, your words, your time

It’s all mine to possess

You are a tourist in this place…

No matter how you dress.”

“Dear cancer,” she said, with a patient smile

With distance on her lips

“I am of yours and you of mine

But, at times, we will pass as ships

I have no beef against you now

Nor do I suffer wrath

For in this moment I will basque

And walk this foreign path.”

With that the cancer disappeared

Took flight to another road

She stood defiant, tall, and strong

For then, He had taken up her load.

Yes

She was a tourist, some did say

Far away from home

Her life’s long journey lead her far

… She never walked alone.

 

 

 

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in acceptance, adventure, cancer, courage, journey, personal journal poetry, Poetry, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Tourist

  1. Judy says:

    Powerful – your words should be out there for every cancer patient to read and “digest.” Such inspiration!!!

    • inmycorner says:

      Oh, goodness, Judy. You make me blush. I don’t know. I am glad you like what I write. I just write what I feel – and I hope it connects. Maybe my book is just for you. You are so sweet.

  2. mandibelle16 says:

    Wonderful poem! Written well and I really hope you (and the speaker) send this cancer packing! I love the line “she stood defiant, tall, and strong.” Reminds me of a warrior, and I think that’s what you must be to fight such a disease, and many others. Cheers

    • inmycorner says:

      Thanks. It is moment by moment. No one can be that brave all the time. But there are moments of glory – as much as there are moments of shame. Thank-you for your compliments. I appreciate your words more than you can know.

  3. Gwen says:

    Wow. Just, wow. You have such a way with the written word. May you and the cancer be ships whose paths cross no more.

Leave a Reply

