My Morning Seduction

It was the “edge” of the heat,

It was the “cusp” of the morning

So close fall is at hand –

It excites me and saddens me all at once.

My morning walk felt foreign – something in the air has changed.

A cooler, crisper, kinder breeze blew through the woods

It was the kiss of dawn that had been so long lost.

We walked to the “edge” of the boardwalk

The “cusp” of the woods

So close the day is at hand –

The black and the white, the light and the dark, the beginning and the end.

The grass was dry – the shadows were long.

We were seduced by the glory of the morning –

Along which we sat teetering on the verge of the day.

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in nature, personal story, Poetry, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to My Morning Seduction

  1. Gwen says:

    Beautifully written with awesome images.

  2. Dawna speers says:

    Stacey—you have a wonderful way of making people visualize what you are thinking—wonderful talent

  3. I really loved this scene.

  4. Judy says:

    Stacey, I wish you’d consider publishing your work. I do understand that might distract you from the creative and therapeutic element of just writing. But your gift is magnificent. I so deeply feel what you wrote. You marvel at nature and the preciousness of life. It is especially poignant because you are facing your mortality with the awful disease you battle on a daily basis.

    • inmycorner says:

      Again, Judy – huge cheer-leader who maketh my head swell – thank you. I wish that I could have marvelled earlier but oh well I guess that’s part of the black/ white thing, eh? I have not yet decided what to do – but still giggle at the prospect. Difficult to know what direction to take with the work and that is my issue.

  5. Oh…..my……..I want to be on that verge too.

  6. Gallivanta says:

    Isn’t it amazing how we can sense that change!

  7. Beautifully written with grace and beautiful picture too.

Leave a Reply

