I eat garlic for breakfast!

Kale salad.  The first thing I spot in the fridge this morning to eat.  I drool.  I know, it’s kale but with the taste of metal on my tongue from the carboplatin chemo drugs, it is one of the more intense tastes that can over-ride the metal hang-over from treatment.

Kale salad.  Lemon juice and garlic dressing.  Yum.  Lots of flavour there.

It has to be healthy!  It does have a ton of texture and taste.  Plus, it’s been marinating since yesterday.

 

Kale salad with garlic.  Nothing better for breakfast.  Wake up that mouth, those taste-buds.  I add a little salt because, well, that’s got flavor.  And this morning, I need a different taste in my mouth.

BAM!  I injest a big chunk of fresh ground garlic that didn’t get mixed in completely.  BAM!  I bite down on it.  I am not afraid.  I continue to chew and swish that morsel right around in my mouth.  I taste something other than metal.  What a delight.  The garlic sings on my tongue and resonates to the roof of my mouth.  I become garlic – and garlic becomes me.  My mouth is alive.  It burns.  It breathes. It lives.  Finally!

Yes, I am not afraid of it:  I eat garlic for breakfast.

(Guess next time I’ll have to be more careful to mix it in better.)

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in food, garlic, humor, kale, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to I eat garlic for breakfast!

  1. Harlon says:

    Garlic for breakfast – you are my kinda gal! Hugs, Harlon

  2. Gwen says:

    Sounds like many breakfasts at our house – using up left overs from the day before sounds very familiar. Can’t count the times we’ve had broccoli and such for breakfast. Glad the garlic and kale are helping to overpower the metallic taste hangover.

  3. Judy says:

    I love garlic, too, and your post made me smile. I can picture you chewing. I guess you lit up like a “bulb!”

  4. I just hope the rest of your family are eating it as well…

  5. Horseradish tomorrow!!! 😀

  6. Gallivanta says:

    There’ll be no vampires in your house. 😉 Maybe no mosquitoes either. I used to eat clove after clove of garlic whenever I started developing a sore throat. Sometimes it worked, sometimes not, but I am sure my fellow uni students didn’t appreciate my garlic consumption.

Leave a Reply

