Some Days Like Today

There are some days, like today, I feel I have nothing to contribute.

Is this the chemo talking?

Or is this the new “me”?

I find I cannot add to conversations, unless they are about “curtain rods and snow pants” (If you know what I mean?)

I’m lost.

Some days like tody.

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in depression, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Some Days Like Today

  1. Your contribution always matter. The depth of what we say isn’t in the amount of what we say. And sometimes some things matter more than other things. But all things matter. ❤

  2. Don’t think it’s the chemo. We all feel like that some days.

  3. Judy says:

    What I feel is you rise above that empty feeling by simply posting what you did – acknowledging that there are tough days, while still reaching out to people who care about you. Hoping this passes because my sense is that it’s definitely the chemo.

    • inmycorner says:

      …it was the chemo… and a cold. I have one week and a couple days to overcome this cold so that chemo is not delayed. Thanks for the vote of confidence, Judy.

  4. I’d agree with Judy. A friend of mine calls it “chemo brain” when you can’t seem to get your thoughts un-jumbled and coming out in some sensible order. I find that in the last month especially, I’m forgetting things, or to do things, right and left.

    • inmycorner says:

      Yes. I feel a bit bipolar at times. Do you? Mixed with ADHD.

      • I’ve been fighting a certain cloud of depression for a long time, due to not having the energy to tackle the many things I feel I should. This type of chemo I’m getting now doesn’t give me the up & down roller coaster than I got when I had chemo after breast cancer, but it’s sure fuzzing my brain in the memory and concentration departments.
        I’ve always had some ADHD —never finishing what I start, people have said — and now it’s much worse. I can’t remember fifteen minutes later what it was I started! 😦

      • inmycorner says:

        Oh dear. Not having energy absolutely sucks. Mine seems to wax and wane for some reason. I went to see a therapist today and she told me, Stacey, you have to learn that just showing up is good – it is enough. I don’t get it so I have to learn more. And I feel your pain about the 15 minute thing. But – you still write one bad – ass blog!

  5. sharechair says:

    I’m so glad you posted anyway. That’s your strength shining through. I hope today is better, even if just a wee bit.

  6. Harlon says:

    That’s a really impactful statement “some days like today”. I am having my own version on some day like today and hopefully for both of us, tomorrow will be a beautiful some day like today. Take it easy today, don’t take on too much. I may do a bit of weeding in the garden today, just to get outside and some fresh air. Wishing you find some moments of “everything is going to be OK” in your day today. Peace, Harlon

Leave a Reply

