“ASS PER AG US”

Some days I simply cannot help but laugh out loud.  Even when I feel like crap inside.

Yesterday was one of those days.

She just plain and simply makes me laugh.  Who does that?  Who thinks to separate a word into parts and put it all into capital letters?  I don’t know why that stuck me as being so funny yesterday, but it did.

This isn’t the first time she’s left a mark on me.  I feel like I’ve been grin-scarred for life.

Not only that, but she’s made a doodle out of me.  I’ve never been a doodle before.  I think I’m much better looking as a doodle than I am in real life.  I do things that I wouldn’t normally do – as a doodle.  I wear t-shirts that I would not normally wear.  I make a very good patient as a doodle, though.

You see, my friend, she is an artist.  The Chatter Blog writes, philosophizes, doodles, helps people, inspires people, makes us laugh (sometimes cry).  She rides a bike.  She loves the trails.  She loves her family, she supports her friends, and she nurtures her community.

Yesterday’s comment on my post  “What the hell?” was not long.  It was not complex.  But it lifted me out of the doldrums.

We are planning to meet this fall to ride our bikes down one of her mystical trails (I’m hoping it is not too challenging).  We’ve known each other for nearly five years now – but we’ve never met.  I know all about her and she clearly knows me.  I’m excited to meet face to face.  Our VIR TU AL friendship will become three dimensional.  CO OL.

I don’t think I’ll ever look at another spear of asparagus the same way again — I’ll forever be sporting an inner grin.  It will be all I can do to keep it hidden, because otherwise people will ask me what’s so funny?

And I’ll have to say – it’s the ASS PER AG US  – which is only funny when you see it in writing… any you know Colleen.

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in blogging, friendship, humor, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to “ASS PER AG US”

  1. Judy says:

    Collen is sure clever with her DOO DLES and the bike ride sounds WON DER FUL! I do think cyber friendships can be very special and she is a gem. Laughter is the best cure for most things.

    • inmycorner says:

      Ju-dy, Ju-dy, Ju-dy… as are you clever with your wise words. And I agree that these cyber friendships are pretty special, my friend. I feel so very blessed. I’ve been listening through your CD’s and enjoying every moment of them. You are so uber talented.

      • Judy says:

        You have me cornered lol. Thank you, Stacey. I know it’s hard for you to sit still but if they are giving you some comfort – I am truly honored.
        Hope you feel better with every day. It’s a count down to when it will be behind you. You’re getting there!

      • inmycorner says:

        yup – next Thursday will be “mid-chemo”. And no more surgeries… for now.

  2. 😀 you have no idea how happy this made me Stacey 🙂

    I like that we are connected. And I think maybe we should post our biking picture 😉

    But….knowing I made you smile is seriously the best feeling I’ve had. Thank you for sharing that with me. And sign me up to try ASS PER AG US soup. ❤

Leave a Reply

