What the hell?

No, the photo has nothing to do with this post.  I just liked the maple leaf.  And it is a “what the hell kind of day”.

I was supposed to go with a neighbour this morning to get some farm – fresh asparagus.

I was going to teach her how to make soup.

We would have gone in her truck.  She had never been to Barrie Hill Farms – a shame – since this farm is a Barrie icon.

When I was in university, I worked there during asparagus season as a picker.

She cancelled this morning before I cancelled her.  I was not up to the trip as my incision is still sore and I am still wondering how I am going to shower with the bandages?  She cancelled because someone needed her help.

But now.

I think I’ll go anyhow.

Why not? What the hell?

Baby steps.

Ben is home.  He can drive me.  Then, I’ll make some soup.

Why not?  Why am I in bed?  I hate doing nothing all day – it is very, very, very boring.  Asparagus is good for the soul, it is good for my immune system, and doing something has GOT to be better for me than doing nothing.

So – my goal for today is to make fresh asparagus soup – and shower.  These two things will bring me back to life and help me not feel sorry for myself.

While I don’t believe everything I read, I figure, what the hell?  What can it hurt to eat more asparagus?  “Cancer Prevention: It is well known that chronic inflammation and cell oxidation can lead to various types of cancer. With its anti-inflammatory and antioxidant properties, asparagus is a strong fighter against cancer in the bladder, breast, colon, lung, prostate, and ovaries, among others.” I don’t think that applies to cancer which presents via BRCA2 mutations.. but well, again, what the hell?

So – there is my day.  Hail the mighty asparagus spear.

Today – it’s gonna be soup.

Because, well, what the hell?

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in Barrie Hill Farms, cooking, soup, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to What the hell?

  1. I like pronouncing asparagus as ASS PER AG US. 🙂 And I’ve never had ASS PER AG US soup. 🙂 What the hell?

  2. Judy says:

    It sounds like a “soup”er idea!
    After reading what you do with your abundent energy (remodeling) – I can only imagine that this must be like hell for you. I love your baby steps and push to be productive. Wish you felt better and I hope the incision stops hurting soon.

    • inmycorner says:

      Ha ha – good one! Today is already a better day although, you are right, this immobility is killing me! Now I know how my Dad felt. Guess we learn lessons of empathy every day.

  3. Helen Veltkamp says:

    What the hell? I think you should post the recipe and we will all make soup!

  4. Gwen says:

    Soup I always good for the soul and on such a cool (read cold) day, soup should be a welcome comfort. I agree with Helen, post the recipe too.

  5. lorieb says:

    I used to like asparagus until I found out I am allergic to it LOL, apparently alot of people are

  6. Love the attitude!

  7. Gallivanta says:

    I haven’t tried asparagus soup but I love fresh asparagus. I don’t mind what it is good for, just so long as I get some each season!

Leave a Reply

