Today is a day like no other

A day like no other.

It may be a day of miracles, of cures, of healing.  If I turn on the news, will I hear that there has been a massive discovery that will lead to the end of cancer?  If I walk outside, will I encounter someone on the sidewalk who is heading to their first day on a new job – and is excited and nervous?  If I deliver David’s papers, will I push my immune system towards a full recovery so that I may continue my chemo without problem?  Today, I may write a blog post that will speak to one million hearts who connect all at once – and this connection will bring a peace around the earth that causes Mother Nature to rest?  (okay – maybe not – but I can be a dreamer) If I rummage through old files, will I find a million dollar cheque that was stuck between papers and hadn’t been noticed for 50 years?  (I know, still dreaming) But, today is a day like no other.

Today may be a day that my daughter finds a new passion for teaching.  Will she impact the lives of the students she is working with to help make their lives even slightly more brilliant?  Will she be full of energy and enthusiasm when she returns home and want to talk about all of her experiences?  Will she come home with letters from the children who are grateful that she is their biggest cheer-leader?  Today, Katya may change the world to one young person – or maybe one old person.  It is a day like no other.

It may be a day when Ben saves a person’s life while he is working as a life-guard at the City pools.  It may be someone who is a beloved partner, a wife, a husband, a son or daughter.  This person will look humbly to Ben and realize how fragile time can be – how much he/she took life for granted and then – learn to live deeply.  Ben may give someone the opportunity to become an active participant in life – to be “present” for his / her family.  Maybe Ben will save this person’s life twice… physically and mentally.  Maybe he/she was already drowning and needed to be saved?  Because, things like that happen on days like this.

I wonder if David will be strong enough to show to his classmates and teachers how passionate he is about ending the recruitment of child soldiers?  Will his teachers see a David that they have never seen before?  Maybe David will show them how caring and compassionate he really is.  Because – he is. Will his voice speak for the children who have no voice?  Will he help those who seek justice find justice and those who seek peace find peace?  If David has a good day today, today will have counted.  He will have seized the opportunity to learn and having learned he can become more responsible.  He is becoming a man and with that comes so many gifts.  He has so much to share and so much to take from life.  And life, today, may just give back – on this very unique day which is like no other.

The bond between husband and wife.  This bond of 25 years… is one more day older.  I wonder if he will think of me today and be reminded about why he chose me so long ago?  Will he miss me?  Will he be thankful for having spent his life together.. with me by his side?  It has been a life-time of conversations, of dances, of eating olives together, of comparing notes, of loving, of raising children, buying houses, travelling to warm places in the depth of winters, and nurturing one another’s dreams.  We have worked, played, laughed, cried.  Together.  Our memories are unique, but united.  Team LePage supports World Vision, Red Cross, Rainbows.  Team LePage rallies to our parents’ sides, our childrens’ sides, each other’s sides.  In sickness and in health – we must bring out the best in each other, tap into our strengths, rejoice in our courage, laugh at our mistakes, and not take ourselves too seriously.  It could happen today.  It is, very much, a day today like not other.

Mother and daughter. In the mist of aging.  There is no clear direction.  There is no clear solution.  There is no clear future.  There are no answers, but there are many answers at the same time.  Chaos.  Interventions.  Fear.  Limitations.  Intruders.  Strangers.  Doctors.  Forms, questionnaires, inquiries.  Where will it all lead?  What does it all mean?  When will it all end?  And what does that mean?  Yet – there is love.  There is compassion.  There is care and there is love.  What difference will today make to them?  What will turn age into a mere statistic so that it does not measure the spirit?  It is an uncontrolled medley of emotion which crescendos at the most unexpected time.  And life moves forward.  We find our purpose.  We have our roles to play.  We have our souls to set free.  Faith.  It will take faith to move mountains today.  But it is possible to do so… on a day like today.

Today is unique.  The sun will never shine the same way on the mountain ash tree just outside my window as it does at this very moment.  The iris will never be as white as it is at this moment.  The peonies will never hold so much promise as they do at this very moment.  Katya, Ben, David, Kevin, Grandma, and Rita will forever be different because of today… this day like no other.

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in advice, aging, appreciation, attitude, cancer, faith, family, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Today is a day like no other

  1. Judy says:

    Your writing took my breath away. I am attending a funeral today so my thoughts are already very poignant. But your words will go with me. Thank you for this incredibly beautiful post.

    • inmycorner says:

      Wow – well – Judy – glad you could relate to the post today, sad it was in the context of a funeral — never easy. Glad my words were there for you – I felt good saying them today. Judy – thank you for YOUR support.

  2. So thoughtful, loving, reflective, moving.Thank you.

  3. Gwen says:

    Wow, If I could have one wish today, it would be that ALL of your dreams for today come true. I know that everyone in your family will have a positive effect on at least one life today (but probably so many more).

Leave a Reply

