Chemo 2: Day Four

So – it is finally sinking in that day four, as it draws to a close, sucks.

My stomach kills me!!!!  Eating dinner is like eating razor blades.  Why did I not clue in to this until now?  Last time I ate raw carrots and though for sure that was the problem.  This time, it was a Burger King Whopper (I know, gross and bad, but it was comfort food for David and I).  Holy crap – I think the lining is ripped off my stomach.  I get relief when I drink litres of water.  Who knew?  Well, I should have.  But I forget each time – so this is more of a reminder to self.. what happens.

Solution?  I don’t know yet. DON’T EAT!

Other than that – so far so good.  No steroids tonight so am anticipating joint pain.  But, that too only lasts overnight.  I just have to get through this next 24 hours and then I’ll be ready to roar again.

Great day in the garden – as it seems so many others did too.  There are so many photos uploaded to facebook that reflect peoples’ efforts in the garden.  It’s so great to see and I’m glad I’m not the only one.

Kevin and Ben finished their marathon swims in Mexico yesterday and will be home on Tuesday night.  Missed it. Next year?  Should I be so optimistic?  Yes.  Indeed.  Why not?

Feeling pain relief finally.

Short post today – just a note to self – Stacey – on the evening of day 4 dont’ eat!!!!!

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Chemo 2: Day Four

  1. Gwen says:

    Glad you enjoyed some garden time. Sorry you experienced pain, but happy you’re having some relief now. Fingers crossed that Day 5 is not too overwhelming.

  2. Judy says:

    I so understand the need for “comfort food” and sorry you were hurting. That’s a tough thing. Hoping you’re past all of this soon. Thinking of you.

  3. sharechair says:

    Nothing sits well? That’s awful. Hopefully day 5 will bring relief ….. and that this evening you can sleep through the pain. Hugs.

  4. Wendy Insley Saint-Onge says:

    I am so very sorry for the pain and discomfort of treatment. But I’m damn glad you enjoyed that Burger King!

  5. I think the Burger King was a great idea. Getting comfort from anything seems like a great idea.

    I’m sorry day 4 has turned out to be a not as good day. But I’m glad on this day 4 you are making plans for next years swim. I think that’s a great comfort thing to focus on.

  6. Tammi Kale says:

    Yes indeed be optimistic……That is truly much of the battle, although I very well know how hard it can be to maintain at times…….

Leave a Reply

