Dear Stacey: Here is your list of things to do today

Make bran muffins – heavy on the flax.

Cut hair short – but keep it stylish!

Clean David’s room – and add a touch or two to make it your own.

Eat well – lots of veggies.

Get ready emotionally – take some quiet time to reflect.

Get ready physically – do your 10, 000 steps a day.

Walk – every morning even when you don’t want to.

Spend time with the kids – make sure they are okay.

Tell them how much I love them.

Pray – you forget to do that often enough.

Look outside your window – don’t miss the arrival of spring.

Go see the dentist – or not.  You’ve got a lot on your plate right now.  Should get your teeth cleaned though.

Remember to pray.

Think positively.

Appreciate your lot in life – so many others don’t have nearly what you have.

Celebrate.  You are alive.

Sleep – if you want.  You did get up for your walk this morning.

Open your eyes to the beauty that surrounds you.

Be thankful.

Remember it is okay to cry.  But not all day.  Your bike is waiting for you.  And so is your life.

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in appreciation, attitude, cancer, journal, journey, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Dear Stacey: Here is your list of things to do today

  1. Karen Markovic says:

    Love is the miracle cure! Wishing the best possible outcome!

    • inmycorner says:

      Thank-you so much. A cure would be “music to my ears”, for sure. Thanks, Karen

      • karen markovic says:

        Do whatever it takes to make yourself happy everyday…..don’t give up….always surround yourself with beauty.. art, good healthy natural food, nature, music, friends, family, feed your soul and your heart. I know things are easier said then done.
        When my mom was in the hospital I had wrote on many pieces of paper LOVE is the Miracle Cure and taped them all over her room. The nurse came in and asked you who did this…..who wrote this? I said, I did! She turned to me and said “God is here” please know God is with you…..somehow, some way a force so strong will be at your side watching over you and loving you!

      • inmycorner says:

        Great story, Karen. Thanks for letting me in on that moment with your Mom. What a beautiful thing you did for her. And, yes, I need to pray more. I’ve been hearing that message a lot today – from many “quiet” sources.

  2. Judy says:

    Stacey, I love how every item on this list was encouraging and loving. Self-love was the cure for so much of my own pain. This post shows how you truly are your own best friend. 🙂
    The part where you don’t “pray often enough” – well, this is where those around you will collectively hold hands and pray for you. I’m in!

    • inmycorner says:

      Judy -I love your words of encouragement. It was a tough morning this morning.. I wasn’t thinking I was very happy with myself – it is tough to watch those you love struggle and i am trying to be a good parent enough to help them. I guess that’s where I need more prayer. Glad you are on my side.

      • Judy says:

        I am! I mailed some music etc. out to you this morning. It must be so hard to balance – taking care of your health and caring for your children. I feel for you. I’m definitely on your side!

      • inmycorner says:

        I’m excited to receive something so very special in the post! Thank-you.

  3. April says:

    Yes, don’t forget to notice the beauty around you. 🙂

    • inmycorner says:

      That, my dear April, is a good thing to remind me about. It tends to be my salve. It was difficult for me to see the beauty this morning – but it is coming back. Thanks for your comment.

  4. Stacey – in the middle of pain you take the time to think of others. You are an inspiration

  5. Dear Stacey…..

    YOU GOT THIS!

  6. Gallivanta says:

    A great list for all of us!

  7. Martin Langmuir says:

    Our thoughts are with you as they always are, I just don’t express them here as often as I should. You are an inspiration for anyone who has or is going thru cancer treatments. I feel fortunate my last check-up 2 weeks ago was clear. All our love Martin & Toni.

    • inmycorner says:

      Same here, Martin. I will always think of you and Toni. So glad you are doing well and I am proud of YOU! Bravo. Keep up the good fight, my friend.

Leave a Reply

