Hopeful: To be full of hope

I got the call yesterday afternoon at 3:00 pm.

I almost didn’t answer it as the call display read, “anonymous”.  Usually that means a telemarketer, someone telling me I won something, or a courtesy call from some bank wanting to improve my services.  Funny – they never offer to pay the mortgage!  I don’t know what compelled me to answer.  I hate the phone.  We never answer our phone.  David does.  But, I answered.

“Hello?  Stacey speaking.”  (I never answer that way, either)

“Oh… hello.  Um.  This is Maria calling…”

I knew who she was immediately.  I knew what the call was about.  There was no rush of words so that you cannot get a word in edgewise when it is someone who is trying to sell you something because there is an immediate rush to take the deal and the neighbours have all expressed and interest and you, Mrs. LePage, are a smart woman who knows value when she see it and 90 percent of our time is spent doing things we don’t want to do when all it takes is..    You get the picture.

It was Princess Margaret Hospital.  It was the woman from the clinic trials.

“We have an appointment for you on Monday morning at 9 am for the immunotherapy clinical trials.”

Gasp.

Breathe.

Rejoice.

“Seriously?  This Monday?”  I couldn’t believe my own ears.  “I thought it would take a couple of weeks.”

Silence.

“So, can you make it?”

“YES!!”

“You will need to bring your health card and a CD of your CT.”

I giggled thinking how much health-care then sounded like military in terms of their love of acronyms.  Then, I panicked.  It was 3 pm on a Friday.  Would I be able to get a copy of my CT scan in time?

“Oh – I’ll try to get it but RVH may not be able to do it in time.”

“Here is the address for PMH.  You can have them forward it to us.  Can you make it for 9 am? ”

“I think so – at least 9:30.”

“That’s fine. So, we’ll expect you between 9 and 9:30?”

(Damned right you will!)  “Yes – thank-you!”

And I hung up the phone from the anonymous caller.  In my head, I leap for joy.  In reality I got on the phone to RVH to see about my CT.

Sometimes, things just work according to Hoyle:  I got through to imaging, I ordered the CD, I left to pick it up, it was ready, I got the copy, I left RVH (it was so quick I didn’t even have to pay for parking – honestly – the gate just went “up” with a statement that “you owe zero dollars!),  I came home.  What?

And here I sit – ready for Monday.  Hopeful.  So hopeful that I will have success in this program.

To assist the process, I have begun an immune – boosting regime of diet and exercise.  Looked at bikes last night – decided I loved the $2,000  model but maybe my Canadian Tire special from 10 years ago would work another season instead.  I’m going organic once again too.

Yes, I am hopeful.  The sun is shining, the birds are singing, and I am alive.

Sometimes, the stars do seem to align themselves “just right’.

Hopeful: full of hope

Grateful:  full of gratitude

 

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in appreciation, cancer, Immunotherapy, personal journey, philosophy, Princess Margaret Hospital, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Hopeful: To be full of hope

  1. Dawna speers says:

    WHO—-the stars are in alignment. We wish you great success on Monday—lots of prays coming your way.

  2. Gwen K says:

    Yahoo!!! I love how things in this crazy journey of yours just seem to “fall into place” as you need them to help you along. I really think your angels are rooting for you. How exciting to get this trial started so quickly.

  3. Buy the bike! 🙂

    I’m cheering from here! Thank God for all of the people working so hard to find cures and treatments. Yay them. And Yay, you.

  4. Jan says:

    Oh Stacey! That’s wonderful news.
    Would you like me to meet you at PMH???
    This is a new adventure, Stacey! ….and breaking new ground in medicine. I really believe this is the future of cancer treatment.
    Love you, Girl!

  5. Karen Markovic says:

    Good Luck with everything Stacey….I am so sorry your having to have to go thru round two. Stay positive, surround yourself with love, eat well, rest well and pray. God Bless!

    • inmycorner says:

      Karen – you are sweet. Thanks. I am doing my best to eat and walk through this next round! grin. I enjoy the eating more than the walking at this point.. grin.

      • Karen Markovic says:

        You can fight this…I know you can….think positive thoughts…have you done research on other natural products that can help build your immune system….I could write a book on anything and everything I did! There is something to be said about our bodies, our system’s, food, love, positive thinking, positive surroundings. Everything is possible!

      • inmycorner says:

        Oh, boy. You are so right. I believe so much in the power of positive thinking. I wish it were something that I could do all the time – funny how people come into my life when I need a good shot of positivity in my life once more. Thank you.

  6. Judy says:

    I’ll be thinking of you on Monday. Wishing you healing and health with this hopeful treatment!

  7. Yvonne says:

    I am thinking of you! Vive la joie de vivre

Leave a Reply

