If you could, what would you say?

Dear immune system:

Listen, I know you are trying your best.  You have done well in the past – but this is getting a bit ridiculous.  Even I know the difference between “me” and “not me” – “good” and “bad”.  I thought we were raised better than this?

In any other circumstance, I’d be down-right mad at you, but that’s not the way to deal with any issue.  Anger has never got me anywhere.  So, I won’t be angry with you.  But, I do expect better.   It is time you figured out what is “cancer” and what is not “cancer”. Do you need some help with that?

In case you answer, yes, well good for you.  I do hope you are coachable because I am hoping to send you back to immune school soon, provided Princess Margaret Hospital accepts us.  There – I want you to be a good student.  Take notes, study hard, and get moving on what you are supposed to be doing already.  I’ll help you.  I’ll feed you, rest you, and water you.  I’ll offer you support and encouragement if that’s what you need?  I’ll offer you a positive attitude and laughter and music if that’s your fancy.

Seriously – no more farting around.  It is time to get down to business and take “us” seriously.  Take off those glasses that have obstructed your view and let’s get down to it.  See it for what it is.  Ovarian cancer is “NOT” us.  It may look like us – but it is not and it is going to hurt us.

Not to be nasty, but if you don’t learn well at immuno-school, then I’m going to have to remove you with drugs.  Neither you nor I want that, do we?  I don’t have any other choice than to give you this ultimatum.  Do you hear me?  It seems I’m going to have to be firm with you now.  Enough is enough.  We are worried about you.

Good job on the cold, although it seems you are a little short in the tooth for this one too – those viruses have lasted just a bit too long for my liking.  Nice going on the pollen – good control there.  You still haven’t learned the sun can be our friend, but well, at least you do eventually.  Cats?  Well, I’ll let that one go.  But cancer – come on!  You have to step it up.

Okay.  Do we have a deal?  Get your ducks in order and get ready to be schooled.  Don’t forget your notebook so you remember what you need to remember!  We are in this together – I’ll help you – I’m there for you… you need to be there for me too.  Remember it is a partnership!  I’m counting on you.

You have a couple more weeks to prepare yourself and during that time, if you even want to practice your line of attack, I’d be happy with that.  Cancer is that stuff that is multiplying out of control – you know.  Don’t be afraid – it won’t kill you… well, scratch that comment.  It won’t kill you if you don’t let it!  So – don’t let it.

Anyhow, just thought you may need this pep talk.  You are your own education control board.  I can take you to immuno-therapy school but the rest is up to you.

Much love and support,

Me

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in advice, cancer, Immunotherapy, Princess Margaret Hospital, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to If you could, what would you say?

  1. Whatever course of treatment you take, I’m keeping you in my thoughts and prayers. We both want to get as much of life’s goodness as we can, but sometimes the course involves a battle, sometimes an endurance race.

  2. Dawna speers says:

    Hi Stacey

    I loved your chat with your immune system. Mind, body and spirit working as one.

    Our prayers and support will be with you as you once again battle to maintain a healthy body.

  3. Gwen K says:

    Sounds like excellent advice, coach. Let’s hope they got the message.

Leave a Reply

