Because I am Alive

Because I have lived beyond the statistics for stage IV ovarian cancer, I have been able to do and witness so many miraculous things.

Because I have lived beyond the statistics, I have:

  • witnessed my son grow into a fine, young man with a promising future.  He has faced his health challenges head on and has had the courage to talk about it.  I admire him. I love him.  I am looking forward to watching Ben continue to grow – to find someone special, raise a family.
  • been there for my daughter when she needed me.  I have had the luxury of late-night chats and working together on her projects.  She is becoming more and more comfortable with her own future as days pass.  I love to see her smile and to be excited to move forward with her life.  I am proud of her and respect her passion for life.  Katya is a lovely, young woman with a bright and promising future of which I will work hard to remain a part of;
  • been able to help David to establish himself with his first job – a paper route.  I have witnessed his self-confidence grow so that he can now take risks and feel good about himself.  He has a ton of courage, determination, and self-control.  He grows taller every day but is never afraid to offer hugs and kisses.  Oh, how I wish to remain a part of his life for a very long time;
  • supported my husband’s goals for his 50th year.  It is exciting to see him take time for himself, to do something that he loves to do.  He has been encouraging and supportive of me through this very rough time.  I am elated that he can finally take some time for himself – to continue to grow as a person so we can enjoy each other in good health.  He is a loyal partner, a loving father, who brings life into our house.  I am so looking forward to biking, kayaking, and walking with him throughout our lives together;
  • been re-united with long-lost family.  For 48 years, I have held many questions deep within me.  I have speculated and dreamed, cried and laughed.  Because I am alive today, I have played a very small part in helping a family to become whole.  What a miracle it has been to witness the love a family can hold for so many years – to never give up;
  • provided support for former students who still need a cheer-leader.  I am there for them, long after they have been my students.  I am so very blessed that my career had been such a rewarding career that I made a difference in some lives.  I enjoy watching them grow as people, as contributing members of society, as parents.  How fortunate I have been to have had these opportunities.

Because I have beat the statistics, I am able to encourage others.  I have no idea where life will take me.  Cancer is not without its toll.  It has taught me to always reflect on the gift of each day.  There are no guarantees in life.

But, because I have beat the statistic – I am not a statistic myself.

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in appreciation, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Because I am Alive

  1. Because you are alive….. best sentence of the day!

  2. Godsfruitful says:

    Hi:) First, I want to say that I’m sorry that you are going through such a scary time. The unknown can be very hard to handle. I’m glad to see that you do have a supportive family to help keep your focus busy on them:) During my working days, I encountered many people diagnosed with cancer, and it was a very hard situation to accept. Some of my clients lived and some did not. As Christians we sometimes question why, but we also know that God has a plan for every life.
    I just came across your site via another blogger. I’m happy that I did. I started blogging in January as a means to encourage others. I want to invite you to my site and if interested follow me back. I believe that it’s important to support others on this site as we all are trying to encourage others 🙂
    I will be praying for you as you go through this uncertain time. Keep positive and stay focused like you are doing with your blogs:)) God Bless you!!

    • inmycorner says:

      Oh – thanks to you for finding me! I Do believe God has a plan. I need to be more patient. I know this. I also need to remain positive – you are right. Thank-you so much for connecting with me and I most certainly will take a peek at your site. It’s good to find like-minded people. Many blessings to you, too!

Leave a Reply

