Am I Ready to Let Go?

The photos lay scattered

I’ve rummaged and searched

They are all very old

On the shelf they have perched

For years they were hidden

All hidden from view

But never were lost

Only seen by a few

There’s Jackie, there’s Jan

There me, I’m so small

There’s Mom and there’s Dad

And then Jamie – that’s all

She kept them, I kept them

I guarded each one

So carefully hidden

No seal was undone

But now is the time

To let go of the lot

Of the photos that were hidden

And desperately sought

Dear Jackie, dear Jan

In my life you have been

Each day you’ve been with me

Although never seen

It’s time to let go

Of the memories at last

It’s time to move on

To the future – not the past

I pull off the memories

Sealed to the page

And tenderly hold them

Their future to gauge

It is time they are given

To you – you who own

Those smiles and giggles

Of times you had known

Your memories, you past

Your family and friends

Your quiet histories

Your means to your end

And end that begins

A new family found

The family who lost you

In whose love you abound.

 

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in family, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Am I Ready to Let Go?

  1. Gallivanta says:

    What an amazing story you have given us in these recent posts. How on earth did you find the connections/ the links/the clues/ the pieces of the puzzle?

Leave a Reply

