Snow Day!

“Drive carefully, Kevin” I wished my husband as he set off on the treacherously icy and snow-covered roads this morning.

He had already been up – quite early – to blow the snow from a series of drive-ways on our street.  First, ours, then the couple across the road with a set of young twins.  Then, our neighbour who gets up in the wee morning hours to begin his commute to Toronto.  When he came back inside, this morning, his hair was frosted by the snow which had been removed from the drive-ways and his cheeks were ice cold.

I only learned of all this activity when he came to bring me my morning coffee.  Yes.  I confess.  I was still resting in my warm bed when he was out working in the snow.

“Good morning, Princess” is his usual morning greeting.  I’m not sure where that came from – we don’t have pet names for one another.  But I am sure that when those words are spoken, they are accompanied by a hot cup of coffee.  This, is how my day dawns.  How lucky am I?

“Were buses cancelled, Kevin?” I inquired with a hint of skepticism.  I had “called” it the night before, but changed my mind.  It had been too early when I went to bed to make an informed call.  My youngest son, however, had been excited.  My kids, you see, have this belief that if I call “snow day” it happens.  I was hoping that my boy would allow me to claim my early call a victory.

“Yes.  They are cancelled”, Kevin replied.

As it did when I was young, my heart leaped with joy.  In my youth, when buses were cancelled it meant that I could spend the day with my Mom.  Dad would ALWAYS find his way to work.  But, Mom, stayed home.  We would bake together or play card games.  It didn’t matter what we did – I just liked being home with her.  And that feeling lives with me today.  Snow day – means “Mom” time.

“Does David know yet?”  I asked.

“Nope.  He is in the shower.”

Moments later – the shower stopped.  I was excited to deliver him the news.  I couldn’t wait to hear his squeals of joy.  We would spend the day together – cooking or playing cards.  Maybe I could created a long-lasting association with “me” and snow days as I had with my own Mum?

“It’s a snow day, David!” I heard Kevin explain to David.

“Yes! I knew it!  I knew it!  Mom called it last night!”

And with that, David flew into my room to announce the news.  He listed the many things he wanted to do during his day off and then ran downstairs to see who else was up to whom he could share his glorious news!

Kevin prepared himself for work while I sipped my coffee and waited for the quiet to descend upon the house so that I could write my morning post.

“Drive carefully, Kevin”  I advised him.  And as I bid him adieu, the sun came out from behind the snow clouds.

Maybe today would be a good day to go skiing?  Maybe cards?  Maybe some baking?  Who knows – the day is our oyster because today – is a snow day!!!

 

 

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in appreciation, family, nature. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Snow Day!

  1. pixieannie says:

    Such a joyful tale. I wish I could announce that we too had a snow day. Alas, it is mostly just wet with a hint of sunshine in between showers. Your place sounds like my kind of place. You have a big heart and never cease to make me smile.

    • inmycorner says:

      Oh, I wish you could share the joy of a snow day too! Of course, the snow plow operators and operations people may not be joyous! Perhaps one day you will share it – who knows, Annie? Thank-you. I’m so glad I could bring a smile to your beautiful face this morning!

  2. I really enjoyed your post. I grew up in the heart of the city, so there was no such thing as “snow day”, but when we were living in a small town in SW Ontario — in the snow belt — we had white-out days where we could snuggle in and toss all outside responsibilities to the winds.

    One of these was a Christmas Day and the whole town was snowed in, all travel plans cancelled, so half a dozen of us neighboring households got together to enjoy one family’s feast prepared for company that couldn’t come. “Joy to the world and on earth peace, goodwill…” 🙂

  3. RoSy says:

    Enjoy the snow!
    I think I’m good without it.
    My mind just keeps thinking spring…

  4. Gallivanta says:

    Snow days were always so exciting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

