My Watch Reads, “50 Steps”

Only 50 steps may I have made

With my feet against the floor

Still, my mind refuses to believe

I haven’t walk many more –

50 steps one foot at a time

To wander aimlessly

While in my head the distance gone

Surpasses that effortlessly

A million miles I’ve walked alone

Without a single step

Reflecting on the days gone by

I’ve a million more to travel yet

Remember this, remember that

It’s all now in the past

The day before the day before –

Time – it travels fast

My head is spinning sitting here

My fingers typing fast

But will my watch know how far

My thoughts are whirling past?

50 steps is not enough

My body doth cry out

Get up, get out, get on your way

Lest you end up stout!

My mind, it begs for me to wait

And purge the binge of brain

My body twitches impatiently

To get off this memory lane

The flood-gates open so effortlessly

Once the dam is broke

And words fall quickly on the page

Ideas, the embers stoke

Fitbit, my friend, you know you’ll win

The favors of my choice

For the dog must walk and the weather’s warm

Mother Nature unleashed her voice

“Stacey Louise, get off your duff”

She blows a gentle breeze

Get up, get out, get moving along

For soon your world I’ll freeze!

Only 50 steps may I have made

With my feet against the floor

Still, my mind refuses to believe

I haven’t walk many more –

 

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in activity, adventure, fitness, fitness and health, humor, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Watch Reads, “50 Steps”

  1. Gallivanta says:

    πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Yeah, what does the Fitbit know!!!!

Leave a Reply

