Motherhood

When you leave I stand alone – but I know it’s not for long

Soon, my son, you will return  – back home where you belong

When you leave, I stand alone – and weather winter’s cold

Soon, my son,  you will return … you may notice I’ve grown old

The years pass by so quickly it seems – I can’t quite keep the pace

Against the sands of time – against which I seem to race

Winter’s snow does slow the mind to offer some solitude

A time to think, a time to pray, a time for gratitude –

When you leave I stand alone to peek into your room

I whisper words, though you’re not near, “I will see you soon!”

 

 

 

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in aging, appreciation, life, motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Motherhood

  1. sharechair says:

    Oh how I hate those goodbye’s. My son lives wayyyyyyy on the other side of the country. Said goodbye last Wednesday. Not sure when the “next” time is……
    Loved the poem!
    Wishing you and the ones you love a wonderful New Year.

    • inmycorner says:

      Oh – boy – so far away is nasty! Why the heck do they do that? (grin) Thank-you for taking time to read – and here’s to you and yours too in the New Year!!! Thanks for “sharing” your thoughts…

  2. Gwen K says:

    Very moving.

  3. Gallivanta says:

    It is not for long 😉 though sometimes the days drag. I don’t find the goodbyes and separations as difficult as I once did because these days we have Skype and easy telecommunications, and good air transport links. As a child/young adult I dreaded the goodbyes because it meant months of separation, with letters the only contact with my parents.

    • inmycorner says:

      Oh, my goodness, you are so right. Funny – I hate the phone which makes Skype even worse for me. It’s there, however, if I need it – something I never had when I was at university. Seems – you were in the same boat!

      • Gallivanta says:

        Intriguing that such a great communicator/teacher as yourself hates the phone. Mind you, I have taken many years to get used to it as a daily tool. But my heart still lurches if it rings at odd times; remembering times when a phone call was rare and often brought bad news.

  4. RoSy says:

    I’m still adjusting to having an adult kid.
    I miss him while he is away at school. But – I’m happy for him. Because I know he is enjoying college life & doing well as he ventures without 24 hour surveillance.
    Motherhood – for life.

Leave a Reply

