Good – Night – Irene

Hard to believe that only one year ago, I wasn’t sure I’d see another Christmas. My how things can change. Yet, I still pause and breathe – to appreciate the moments in each day. I feel so very blessed that I have been given this “extra” time to live. Wishing everyone good health, good friends, and good fortune. Merry Christmas!

In The Corner

“I think once I’ve had that Benedryl it’ll be good-night”

“Good night, Irene!” replied my nurse today at chemo.

“How did you know that song?” I asked her feeling rather stunned.

“It just came to me”, she stated.  “Why?”

“Just before you came in the room, I focused on my Mom’s Christmas sweater that I was wearing.  And then I imagined that she was with me – taking care of me.  When you sang that song – I knew she was here because she used to sing that song to me.  I will dream about her tonight, I know it.”  I explained.

And so went the day today.  It was a very unusual day all around.  We, my family and I, had initially planned to be in Cuba for Christmas as we had been the year before.  But that didn’t happen.  My family and I, instead, were in the hospital…

View original post 282 more words

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Good – Night – Irene

  1. pixieannie says:

    Stacey…..you are an inspiration. You’ve taken this Demon and fought a battle that so many have lost. There aren’t enough words to tell you how much I admire your spirit and zest for life. You’ve made a difference. I for one, am so glad to have found you. Bless you. x

  2. Gwen K says:

    You are truly blessed, as are we. Merry Christmas to all of the LePages.

  3. Gallivanta says:

    May you continue to be richly blessed each and every day.

Leave a Reply

