Hair’s to Neva!

“I’ll bet you are looking for Neva?”  asked the young man standing behind the reception desk of the hair prosthesis store yesterday.

“In fact, I am”, I responded hoping to hear an affirmative response from him.  It was last winter when I had last visited Neva here to get my first ever – wig.  And it was here where I had returned shortly thereafter to have my oven-singed wig repaired.  (Never open an oven door while wearing a wig)  Neva had been kind, compassionate, and just what the doctor had ordered at the time.  I never thought I’d need a wig.  I had no idea what to even expect.  “Queen Neva” made my search so easy.  I ended up liking, and buying the third wig she put on my head.

“You look fantastic,” I remember her saying when she put on a wig with my natural colour hair.

I believed her because for the first time in a long while, since I lost my hair to chemo, did I see my old self in the mirror once more.  Albeit, my face was puffy and I was pale, I felt “alive”.  And looking better lifted my spirits.  I hated to admit it – but I was concerned about being bald.

“Neva is just around the corner… right here!” he exclaimed as he moved me towards Neva’s workroom.

I walked around the corner and stuck my head in to find her with a paint brush in hand – dying a wig on a stand.  Who knew that was something she did too!  “Neva, it’s Stacey.  Do you remember me?”

“I most certainly do!”  she replied.

“Well, I wanted to show you my real hair.  It’s all mine.”

“You look amazing, Stacey!  I love your hair!  How are you feeling?”

“Neva, I feel better everyday.  I’m seven months into remission.”

I repeated it again while turning to the man who was now standing behind me.  “I’m seven months into remission from Stage 4 ovarian cancer!”

Neva yanked the gloves off her hand as she moved forward quickly to give me a hug.  The man boasted loudly, “congratulations!!!!  We don’t get many people coming back here after Stage 4!  How wonderful.”

Neva gave me a great big bear hug.  “Stacey, I am so happy for you! You were so forlorn last time I saw you.  You know – the singing incident.  Congratulations!  Thank – you so much for coming back.  This is such a gift.  I am so happy.”

(Did she have a tear in her eye?)

I’m not sure who gave who a bigger gift that day – Neva with her excited response to my news, or me with my full head of hair?  Either way, it was a wonderful moment that had not been shared by many.  I wonder how many times Neva must have fitted a person with a wig and then … never to be seen again?  What thoughts must run through her head when a woman with stage 4 cancer sits in her chair and selects a head piece?  Did she wonder if she would ever see me again – alive?  All in all, I would think her job to be rewarding and very challenging.  How many woman return to visit her?

It was a wonderful encounter.  It was a happy ending.  For Neva and for me.  My previous “hair-razing” experience had ended in “style”.  And for that – I had Neva to thank.

 

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in acceptance, appreciation, beauty, cancer, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hair’s to Neva!

  1. I’m so happy for YOU. AND for the treat you gave your wonderful Neva and coworker!

Leave a Reply

