There, but for the grace of God, go I

There is a downpour of rain.  I stay inside.

The wind howls through the trees.  I close my window.

I am hungry.  I go to the fridge to decide what I want to eat.

I am tired.  I go back to bed.

I am thirsty.  I pour myself a glass of water.

I wonder what is happening in the world?  I listen to the news.

My family is far away.  I call them to speak with them.

I hear a loud tapping.  It is a bird at my window.

I am ill.  I seek help from my doctor.

My children need an education. They go to school.

I need a new winter coat.  I buy one.

I don’t like the colour of my dining room.  I paint it.

I want to be creative.  I buy a sketch book.

I want to learn Spanish.  I take a course.

I am concerned about my fitness.  I use my treadmill.

How is my son doing in school?  I talk to his teacher.

Christmas is coming.  What do I need?  Nothing.  I need for nothing.  I want for nothing.  I have been graced with family, friends, and now good health.  This is my life today.  Tomorrow?  Who knows.  Today – I am blessed.  Today – I have what so many others lack.  How is it that “I” have so much?  How is it, that by simple right of birth – I do not “want”?

It would have been so easy for the shoe to be on the other foot.  At any given moment of any given day – I could be “them”.  I could be without shelter, water, food, safety.

Christmas is coming.  Our needs are met.  Others’ are not.  Others seek refuge – the greatest gift we could ever give to one another.

Because – it could just as easily have been “me” on the other side of the window, the other side of good health, and on the other side of the world.

 

 

 

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in appreciation, attitude, putting things into perspective, reflection and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to There, but for the grace of God, go I

  1. Wonderful post and moved by the close in the last 2 paragraphs.

    • inmycorner says:

      Thank-you, David. I really appreciate your feed-back. Funny how sometimes, things come easily without much thought. Maybe that’s the secret – I shouldn’t think! (Grin)

  2. April says:

    To repeat what I always hear…the best things in life aren’t things. Have a healthy holiday and enjoy every minute of it.

  3. Gwen says:

    Amen, my friend. Sometimes it is easy to get caught up in the season, but we are truly blessed.

  4. I have more than I need Stacey. This is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

