Colour my World

Colour my world with deep pinks in the morning

Shades that subdue what may be a snow warning

Through rose-coloured glasses though which do I see

November’s first snow-fall on the branches of each tree

Colour my world with clouds of cerise

Endulge in the wonder, ever-changing will cease

From amaranth to violet from folly to carmine

The clouds dance together in rhythm and time

Colour my world –  that I look and may find

This glorious palatte – though I may be blind

Paint me my story – use magenta and mauve

For the oranges I harvested as a child in our grove –

Colour my world with fandango and crimson

Breathe life back to me to enjoy a full season

With children, grand-children, and those yet to be

A house full of laughter and full of family

Colour my world with deep pinks in the morn

A gift You have given since the day I was born

My portrait’s not ready – the artist yet paints

For my future unfolds – and my destiny awaits.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in aging, attitude, faith, family, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Colour my World

  1. pixieannie says:

    Stacey, this danced before my eyes. What beautiful imagery you paint in those words. Those last two lines……perfection. If that’s the view from your window, I am so envious as here in the East of Englandshire, it’s piddling down.

    • inmycorner says:

      Thanks so much, Annie. It IS my view. I AM so blessed – and not sure if I’d rather a little piddle right now – grin. This was actually written for my mother-in-law who is now a week into a hospital stay. she lives with us. Can’t figure out what’s wrong with her – thought it may cheer her up?
      (I’ll have to re-read those last two lines to remember what I said! grin)

  2. pepe says:

    i must say that your front cover picture is so serene and pretty..envy you for that..!!

Leave a Reply

