There will never be another good-bye

It was five years ago today;  I walked alone to the entrance of Royal Victoria Hospital – on the sidewalk leading to you.  But you were not there… you were already walking beside me;  You were already holding my hand.  The sidewalk was cold and wet.  There was no sun.  I felt abandoned.  You would never do that;  That was my choice to feel that way.

You never left me, Mom.  Not before now.  Whenever I had a bad day – I could call you.  I would cry to you.  I never knew how that must have felt. You were always strong, always comforting, always there.  You rejoiced in my celebrations.  I would never tell anyone else the things I told you as I feared they would think I was bragging.  But you – you celebrated with me.  You were proud of me.  You told your friends about me.  When I was upset, you would comfort me and tell me things I wanted to hear – not what were right – but what I needed to hear until I came to my own senses.  You knew what was best.  We fought.  You apologized – even when you were not wrong.

This morning I walked with you once more.  It was five years ago today.  I wondered if anyone thought me to be crazy as I spoke “out loud” with you.  I needed to hear myself speak so that I knew I was not dreaming.  To be honest, even after I spoke, I still wasn’t certain if that made a difference.  The sidewalk was cold and wet.  There was no sun.  I was hastened back to the entrance of RVH in my mind.  I knew you would not be there.

But you were.  At least, what looked like you … I said good-bye.  You didn’t hear.  You didn’t answer.  You didn’t smile.  You didn’t give me a hug.  You didn’t smile… you did nothing.  With your eyes closed, I could not see the blue that once held hearts captive.  I could not hear your laughter when you played with our children.  I could not hear you sing.  “Good-night, Irene”, you would once sing.  But I said good-bye.  You never did.  There was a reason.  You never left.

You are in my heart.  You do still feel my joy.  You do still rejoice with me.

Another good check -up, Mom.  I am still in remission.  I am still walking, Mom.  The cold, wet sidewalk doesn’t seem so bad when I think of you.  The sun doesn’t need to come out when I think of you.  When I think of you, I hear your voice, I see your smile, I am comforted by your presence.

I’m still standing, Mom.

Five years ago today, I said good-bye.  Today – I am saying good morning.  I may have said good-bye, but you never left me.

And I – will never say good-bye again.

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in cancer, Grief, inspiration, life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to There will never be another good-bye

  1. pixieannie says:

    Stacey, as I read this, every hair on my body stood to attention, every nerve fired….. a brave piece. My thoughts are with you x

    • inmycorner says:

      i think it may be because you can relate. thanks – a mixed emotions kind of day — hope you had a good work out in some colourful clothes!!!! grin.

      • pixieannie says:

        Hi Stacey, your news is the best news I’ve heard of in a long time. I know it doesn’t take away the uncertainty of tomorrow…. little steps.

  2. This is so beautiful. I’m sure it took courage to put your thoughts on paper; thanks for sharing this heart-memory with us.

  3. pixieannie says:

    I thought you’d like to read this; a poem by Leo Marks, used during the 2nd World War, as a code poem.

    The life that I have
    Is all that I have
    And the life that I have
    Is yours.
    The love that I have
    Of the life that I have
    Is yours and yours and yours.
    A sleep I shall have
    A rest I shall have
    Yet death will be but a pause.
    For the peace of my years
    In the long green grass
    Will be yours and yours and yours.

  4. So very lovely Stacey. I believe she is with you always.

  5. Gwen says:

    Beautifully written again. (even had me shedding a tear or two). I LOVE that you still feel her walking with you, so GREAT to know she still has your back.

Leave a Reply

