TImeless

This post is dedicated to my Dad, Flight Lieutenant William James Duff, who served overseas during WWII – on loan to the RAF.

There was a time when these wings took flight

And soared through the azure skies

To distant lands and foreign seas

With hopes and dreams did rise –

We flew so far, we flew so fast

We were masters of the wind

Our youth and lives we offered you

On you – our hopes we pinned

Fight for freedom, fight for justice

Fight for those we left at home

Fight we did and some did fall

Though – they will never be left alone –

I often think of these times gone by

And friends who have long passed

Though of these memories I may not speak

To those days I do hold fast

A photo, now, is all that’s left

To teach my family

About the service I did give

To my Queen and my country –

With this photo you too may fly

Throughout those distant lands

Imagine what it may be like –

So that you may understand

For –

There was a time these wings took flight

And soared through the azure skies

To distant lands and foreign seas

May our efforts, please forever, will you recognize…

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in Burma, Ceylon, family, flight, remembrance, Remembrance Day, Sri Lanka, WWII and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to TImeless

  1. Jan says:

    Stacey, what a wonderful tribute to your Dad! (-And a very well-written poem as well. )
    I can see so clearly in my mind’s eye the picture of your dad in his uniforma handsome fly-boy he was!
    You do him proud, my dear.
    much love,
    jan

  2. Thank you Lt. Duff. For everything you did. And for being the reason I ‘met’ your daughter. 🙂

  3. m hefkey says:

    Lovely poem. I can picture your dad clear as day in room 8/9. 🙂

Leave a Reply

