Inner Beauty

I held a mirror to my face this morn’

And met me with a critical eye-

More wrinkles and sags than I could count

Then, having counted just gave a sigh –

Was this, I thought, what my own mother felt

As she aged more every year?

Will I ever be free from my judgement calls –

That fill me with such fear?

Too old, too fat, too wrinkled, too worn-

Does my appearance reflect my age?

I try so hard to take care of myself

Yet, my skin protests with rage!

I see myself getting angry and sad

At the loss of my youth in a glance

Then I note how odd it is

My smile – my wrinkles enhance –

Back in time my mind does fly,

Back to a younger day

I was much more vibrant then –

And beauty no price to pay.

Nare a wrinkle on my face,

Nor sag upon  my cheek

Yet I seemed to never have the time –

Or with honesty could I speak –

Now here I am an older me

More confident and  more fit

Of both my body and my soul

Of this, I will admit –

Inner beauty exists but is so hard to see

For appearances get in the way –

The make-up, the colours, the mascara and brows

I need not in the clear light of day –

Look deeper, I say to myself in the mirror

And see what others see –

A heart and a soul that is kind and so gentle

On this so many do agree –

Lift your eyes dear friend in the mirror

So that you are more apt to find

Your true self worth and your value in –

The woman who is so kind

Beauty is not found in looks

Though yours are clear to me

Your worth is measured in your deeds –

You’ve left a legacy!

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in friendship, inspiration, life, vision and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Inner Beauty

  1. sharechair says:

    This is lovely!! I’ll remember next time I’m looking at all those wrinkles, sags and bags!

Leave a comment