10 000 Steps

One step, two steps, three steps or more

I’ve made it out of bed and to the bathroom door –

Counting now to twenty and up to thirty-eight

Waking up to walk this ‘morn and hoping I won’t be late –

One hundred, two hundred, three hundred more

Stretching out my tendons – which I should have done before –

The GPS keeps tally of the direction that we take

The smell of skunk is pungent and forces us awake –

A thousand quiet footsteps lead us underneath the stars

Orian shines quite clearly, though the drivers in their cars-

Pay no heed to the beauty laying right before their eyes

Their minds are stuck on other things, no matter how he tries-

“He said this” and “she said that” and “What would you have done”?

A thousand hurtful feelings with their conscience on the run –

Brothers, sisters, mothers, and fathers, girls, and boys

All fighting over something and with emotions toy –

Five thousand and still climbing while in the final stretch

In the park we throw a stick and tell “Jazzy” to go fetch –

A stick that was still laying on the ground from yesterday

Our dog appears delighted – “fetching”  – is easy to obey –

Step class was not easy as the teacher is fit

Seven thousand and still counting – think I’ll rest a bit –

Coming home was easy as it’s downhill all the way

I have so much time to think about what to do today –

Bzzz, bzzz, bzzz goes the counter on my watch

I’ve reach 10 000 steps – there’s  another notch!

10 000 steps and counting and plenty more to see

But to step and not to listen is to be too fancy-free –

I hear the sadness in her words, the sorrow in his voice

They sit apart in angry fear of having made a choice, that –

Offended one another, yet each other they still do love

One kind word of forgiveness – oh could they rise above?

The fight, the hurt, the prideful history

One kind word to each – would set the other free –

11, 000, 12, 000, and finally I am home

I’ve landed safely at my door and find myself alone –

A few more steps to the kitchen I take and I can see

The dishes that are piled high and I buckle in my knee –

10 000 steps have taken me to Tiffin, Emms, and more

Once again I find my way to that bathroom door –

A rest, I think, would do me fine – a few more steps I take

My watch comes off my wrist for now – it’s time to take a break!

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in cancer, exercise, personal journal poetry, relationships and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 10 000 Steps

  1. Gwen K says:

    Certainly you’ve earned a rest.

  2. Encore !! Encore!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

