I have faith

“Well done, good and faithful servant”

I follow a number of blogs.  Some of them are an unusual choice for me.  I was introduced to them simply because some of them “liked” my post.  I was curious “who” and so clicked on their link.  One of these unusual blogs is called, Isaiah 53:5 Project.

I have a faith.  I believe in God (although there have been times when I have abandoned my faith as hog-wash).  I think it is wise to read the Bible – even if it is to better understand what others know and believe.  And I’ll admit, I pray.  I don’t attend church anymore – although I was a church elder at one time.  My husband and I did have our children baptized – when they were old enough to choose.  But I don’t feel that I belong to an organized religious group right now.  Having said that – I was struck by one of the lines I read today about whether I would be ready for the Rapture.  I didn’t know what that was – so I did some research.  Now I know.  But I don’t know how I feel about it. I don’t think it really matters.  What DOES really matter is that I have been a good and faithful servant.  I mean – isn’t that what counts?

I think my parents used that expression at times when one of us did something good.  I know my Dad had a very good working knowledge of the Bible as did Mom.  They never preached.  They seldom quoted scripture.  They were, however, in so many ways, good and faithful servants – to so many.

I would like to think I was too and will continue to be.  I don’t think that we can ever rest from this mission – or take pause.  Every second of every minute of every hour… every day – we re-define who we are.  It is not enough to do a good dead in the morning and then nothing at night.  Every second counts.

Imagine a world where everyone believed in the public good?  Imagine a politician whose platform was a promise to be a good and faithful servant?  I know no one (I hope!) wakes up in the morning and decides to make poor decisions.  I believe in the good in people and that good tends to prevail – until it is shot down.  But – wow – what a different world we would have if we could all just try to be good – to take the high road.

I am so deeply saddened at the memory of what happened in America on this day, September 11.  It pains me that families and friends are still aching from their loss.  How could anyone have willingly woken up and decided to wreak havoc on so many lives?  There are so many other routes to take other than violence – to express anger, concern, or even dislike.  Good and faithful servants?

I am so deeply saddened by the fact that so many innocent Syrians have to flee their own country – families – friends – lives.  The world seems to be embracing the refugees more whole-heartedly now.  But, what of the government, rebels, who are at the root of the flight?  Surely they do not wake up in the morning and decide, “I am going to be bad ass today.”  Like cancer, this evil seems to spread.  It invades healthy thoughts and contaminates them to the point where they are rendered mindless – harmful – they are left destroying their own futures.

I have faith.  I believe in good.  It must be managed in small doses – but wide-spread.

I never did teach religion – in a public school that was not appropriate.  I did, however, teach with faith and with kindness.  I hope this made a difference.  I hope, one day, they will become leaders and serve the public as good and faithful servants too – if serving none other than their families, their neighbours, their friends.

Charity begins in the home.

I am hopeful that today will be a day of remembrance, a day of “good”, and a day filled with hope for a bright future.

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in cancer, faith, inspiration, life, Teaching and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I have faith

  1. Wally Fry says:

    Thank you for linking to my post!

  2. “How could anyone have willingly woken up and decided to wreak havoc on so many lives? There are so many other routes to take other than violence – to express anger, concern, or even dislike. Good and faithful servants?”

    I guess we all know the answer. If someone has been taught that violence is heroism while tolerance and pacifism are weaknesses, then that person sees himself a “good and faithful servant” when he uses violence on “non-believers” and/or “weak people.”

    Anyone can be misled by other people. If we’re not alert, we can become a 100% believer in something that’s not true. However — thankfully — God wants us to know the Truth. Jesus says “Ask and ye shall receive; seek and ye shall find.” So it is possible for anyone to learn the truth. I really believe even the most wicked people see flashes of the truth from time to time. Whether we then accept it or not, that’s our choice.

  3. Thank you Stacey. I think our belief systems are similar.

Leave a Reply

