My Canada

My Canada is a land of freedom – but I must stand on guard that it remains that way.

My Canada is a land of promise, of hope – but I must not simply expect that to happen.

It is a country where good prevails – but we must fight for good.

It is a land where justice is a right – and common place – thanks in part to my Dad who fought for it during World War II.

My Canada was forged by people who were peace-loving, honest, hard-working.

I choose to support those who understand that leadership means working FOR the people of this country.

I choose to support those candidates who are wise, who have lived life and survived hardships.

I will vote freely for the person I believe will work with a vision for Canada – and that vision is one that I will share.

My Canada is a land where I have had the opportunity to enjoy good health – to be able to fight through cancer to be in remission – to be financially safe thanks to good legislation that works FOR me.

Which leader will continue to enable Canadians to live good quality of lives and to thrive, not just survive, in today’s economy?

Which leader will help me to maintain a positive outlook on life, to support my children as they go through school and life?

My Canada could be all that I see and more – if I stand and demand change.

It is time to pay more attention to people than politics.  Democracy is based on supporting people’s rights and on allowing people to choose a candidate free from intimidation or dirty tricks.

I am choosing a government which I believe will work for Canada, not squeeze Canadians for all their worth.

My ancestors believed in toil and peaceful life.  So do I.

My Canada needs Justin Trudeau.  Justin knows what it is like to suffer loss through the death of his brother, Sasha, and his father, Pierre.  Justin knows what it is like for someone to struggle with mental health through his mother’s mental illness.  He has seen illness.  He has seen struggle.  He must have empathy for “we” who also suffer.

I love Canada.  I will not sit idle to allow it to slip away.  As determined as I was (am) to fight cancer, I will fight for my Canada.

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in cancer, government, illness, inspiration, leadership, mental health, personal journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Canada

  1. Gallivanta says:

    I support enthusiasm for the democratic process.

Leave a Reply

