The Promise

Today I make a promise to keep for every day

I promise to live my life and be alive in every way

Today it is my birthday and many years ago

My parents began a journey having no clue where I’d go

Mom and Dad were loving and raised me the best they could

They gave me an education, a family, a loving childhood

Every day I awakened, I grew and learned some more

I learn to love, I learned to laugh, and then I learned even more

Some lessons were not easy – to say good-bye was one

The times I lost my parents, I thought I’d come undone

But every day the sun it rose and filled the morning sky

With hopes and dreams and wishes and a promise to abide

To live my life, to take each day and make a memory

Each breath, each step, each full regard would help live care-free

For living is so precious – this day I didn’t think I’d see

As cancer took me over and filled my every me

But today…. my birthday… here I write of this morn

I raise my glass and toast this life – this world into which I was born

I promise to be grateful for this extra time on earth

It is a day full of promise, love, and potential – not just my day of birth

I promise to do my very best and open up Your gifts

So thoughtfully created and packaged – in the past I’ve set adrift

Yes,today I make a promise to keep for every day

I promise I will live my life and be alive in every way.

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in cancer, inspiration, life, philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Promise

  1. Gallivanta says:

    I raise my glass to you. A very Happy Birthday. šŸ˜€

  2. Gwen K says:

    Beautifully written yet again. AMEN my dear friend.

  3. Jan says:

    Loving wishes for this special day and for all those special days to come, Stacey.

  4. Tom Graves says:

    A very Happy Birthday! May your day be filled with Love and Joy and Peace!

  5. Dawna says:

    May you have many more memorable, happy day’s HAPPY BIRTHDAY

  6. Maureen says:

    a beautiful poem. My niece is facing her cancer with courage, and I have been able to help a little, thanks to some of your writing…

  7. Your parents did something right bringing you up right, you are strong and a survivor. all our love Martin and Toni.

    • inmycorner says:

      Thanks, Martin – guess the warrior mentality may have come from them! Together they survived WWII, cancer, Parkinson’s, arthritis, a stroke… and me!

  8. pepe says:

    Happy wishes for you on your special day….Happy Birthday and sending you lots of blessings šŸ™‚

  9. RoSy says:

    Cheers!
    And – {HUGS}

Leave a Reply

