Shuffle along!

Oh, what good things a good night’s sleep can do!

Last night – I put my mother’s heating pad around my aching legs.  Truthfully, I’m not sure if it was the heating pad or my mother’s healing hand that helped, but I did feel better.  I barely remember falling asleep.  As my cousin would say, “I think I slept with Peter Mansbridge last night.”  grin.

This morning I saw the sunrise from my bedroom window.  There was only a hint of colour emerging through the clouds and so I knew I hadn’t slept in too late.  Just then, as he does every morning, my Kevin walked in with a steaming hot cup of coffee and a morning kiss.  How can a morning get any better than that?

I sat up, swung my feet to the ground and tested to see if my ankles were road-worthy.  No pain.  I took a sip of my coffee.  My new liquid courage.  I stood up.  “So far, so good,” I said out-loud to encourage  myself.  I took another sip.  Paused.  One more sip before my first step forward.  The first step would tell all.  One, two, three – and … well… “You can’t expect full recovery overnight, Stacey”, I reminded myself.  My Achilles tendon was resisting this morning feat – or should I say feet?  My leg moved and my tendon remained firm that it was not pleased to be active quite yet.  So – I hobbled along to the bathroom, ignoring its protests, but still being kind.  The warning about the side-effect of the antibiotic read, “ripped tendon” and that – I did not want.

It is amazing how one can move without that tendon if one pretends to be 100 years old and doing the 100-year old shuffle.  Although, I must confess, I have seen 100 year olds move more  quickly!

Having successfully navigated to my closet (two steps away), I dressed warmly for our morning walk.

Shuffle, shuffle down the hall.  Hobble, hobble to the steps.  I took two feet for every step as those stairs were just simply challenging.  But, I did it!

Out the door Kevin and I and the dog went.

Shuffle, shuffle – hobble, hobble.  (That was me)  The dog leaped and ran.  Kevin studied me to see if he would have to carry me – and I continued.

Eventually the shuffle turned to a full-out walk.  Nothing ripped, nothing broke.

“Are you feeling better than you did three weeks ago?” inquired Kevin hoping my answer would be affirmative.  “After-all”, he continued, “you don’t seem to be as depressed, you can eat, and you seem to have more energy.”

I would say, “yes”, as it seemed that’s what Kevin needed to hear, but I had to actually remember how I was three weeks ago.  I thought I was fine.  I didn’t remember being bad.  In fact, the whole cancer journey, this morning, was a bit of a blur.  Funny how the mind works in that pain and trauma can lose its grip over time.  If someone were to ask me what it was like a couple months ago, the only thing I would remember is the emotion of the people who were around me.  Emotional responses seem to stick.

“I am feeling, better, Kevin”, I responded finally.  “But I think my last challenge was a reminder that it is not time yet for me to be in crowds.  I don’t want any more complications to my health.  Not yet.”

And we carried on with our morning shuffle.

The sun is up as I write this post.  There is a gentle breeze blowing in my room and promise in the air.  I heard from my daughter, Katya, that in spite of some complications, she and her friend are geared up and ready to explore Portugal today.   I hope the same warm sun is shining on her as it is me so that she too may take her challenges “in stride”!

For now – I will continue to shuffle along.

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in cancer, family, fitness, life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Shuffle along!

  1. kiwiskan says:

    Yes, stay away from infection… Glad your walk went well

  2. Gallivanta says:

    Not quite the shuffle you were doing, but here’s an oldie about shuffling . https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PI5KX9E4dYw

  3. 😀 A good old shuffle!!! Better than a day on your hind end!!!!

  4. RoSy says:

    I say your mom (& dad) are definitely with you on all of this.

Leave a Reply

