Yikes!

Yikes!

Today is the day – in one hour we leave for Toronto Pearson International Airport – to deliver my little girl into the arms of the world.

Yikes.

Will she be warm enough?  Will she be comfortable?  Has she eaten? Will the world take good care of her as she moves from country to country?

Yikes!

Today is the day – in one hour from now.  I will kiss her farewell and wish her a safe trip.  She will be on her way to a great adventure.

Yikes.

Will my heart take it?  Can I not cry?  I need to put on a strong face to let her know I will be okay.  Will the world bring her back to me a different little girl full of stories and learning?  I want her safe.  It is a big place out there.

Yikes!

Oh, time is not my friend.  Until she is on her way home – then, time will be my friend.  May the people she meets be kind.  May the trains, planes, and automobiles she uses be safe.  May the food be nourishing!  I have always made sure what I cook has given her what she needs to grow strong.  I have always encouraged her to be independent.  I have hugged her, advised her, loved her.  And now – it is up to the rest of the world — and her.

Sigh.  My baby girl.  Is now yours.

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in adventure, life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Yikes!

  1. April says:

    It’s hard sending them off. I remember when we sent our daughter off to her new adventure in life and I shed tears in front of her, but I couldn’t get out of the airport fast enough. I blubbered the entire way home.

    • Yvonne says:

      My heart aches as Colleen is also on that journey. The house is already emptier and quieter. I couldn’t hold back my tears to see her go just like I did it 31 years ago when I came to Canada. I now appreciate how hard my departure must have been for my mum. She has much more expérience of travelling than I did then. I pray that our daughters are safe and happy.
      À bientôt Colleen et Katya!
      Yvonne

      • inmycorner says:

        Yes. It is a rude reminder of what our mothers went through when saying good-bye. I must confess I had a hard time holding it together too, Yvonne. At least they have each other and they are smart girls. Glad they are together.

      • inmycorner says:

        I’ll have to put another counter on my blog – to count-down their arrival home!

  2. Tom Graves says:

    We bless Katya and Colleen with a safe journey and return and ask Father to surround them with Mighty Warring Angels to protect them from evil and harm in the Mighty Name of Jesus!!!

  3. Gallivanta says:

    As my mother always said, “May safety in God be your companion.” That applies to you and your daughter. It’s lovely that she is willing to go and you are willing to let her. 🙂

  4. Leah says:

    Ugh! Happy trails dear cousin Katya! Be safe, have fun, and did I mention be safe?!? But this has strummed a heart string. My little daughter will not always be “fahwee” years old. Just thinking about being in your shoes makes me need a paper bag to breathe into!

  5. What lovely prayers! Amen to them all!!!

  6. Dawna says:

    I remember when Sean went on his first European adventure and I, like many a Mom, wept as I waved good bye, hoping and praying that all would go well. Sean came back safe and sound with travel experiences that he shared for many months to follow. He came home a little older but much wiser—-to this day he speaks, fondly, of his adventures.

    My prayer will be that Katya will enjoy every moment and come back with many a happy and fun story to tell.

    • inmycorner says:

      I do look forward to hearing her stories, Dawna. It takes a good deal of courage for us mothers (and fathers) to “let go” and let our little birds fly, non? I know in my head she is ready – and I know in my heart that “I am not”. Another milestone.

Leave a Reply

