It was written in the clouds.

It was in the garden today, when I realized what it must feel to be “old” all of a sudden.

I realized I could not do what I once had been able to do – I didn’t have the energy.

I had to take things slowly while weeding.

I had to narrow my effort to a very small spot.  Looking at the entire garden was daunting.

Oh, to have energy once again.

I pulled out a few weeds and then collapsed backwards onto the grass.  I saw the clouds as I had seen them as a child – big, puffy.  I wondered if I could see images in them?  They meandered across the sky slowly.  I was temporarily caught between old age and childhood.  It was an odd place to be.

It was there – in the garden – I realized that I had been given this moment as a gift.  Once again, I remembered that I hadn’t thought this moment would be possible, only months ago.  The plants were alive – and so was I.

I pulled a few weeks once again.  And I reclined in the grass once again too.

I had hope.  One day – unlike old age – I would be stronger.  Maybe, just maybe I would regain my strength.

It was written in the clouds.

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in journal, life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to It was written in the clouds.

  1. Gallivanta says:

    Enjoy the clouds! 🙂 Old is when you collapse backwards and can’t get up again without assistance. That’s my predicament. 😉

  2. Tom Graves says:

    “The heavens declare the Glory of God…” Psalm 19:1 (Today’s Psalm, May 19th)

  3. Someone wanted you to look at those clouds. 🙂 That’s all it was. 🙂 Today you have the time to do so. So you did. Perfect.

  4. kiwiskan says:

    Some of that childlike joy seems to return as you get older – and I know that tired feeling!

Leave a Reply

