And touch your toes

And touch you toes….

“Oh no, I won’t –  cuz I can’t!”  I thought this morning during Vandie’s pilates class.

But Vandie does not give up that easily.  She kept insisting that I try.  My mind kept insisting that I try.   So I kept trying.  And eventually – I “almost” did it.

“Okay, now roll over backwards”, she then proceeded to instruct Tellie and I.

“Oh no, I won’t – cuz I can’t!”  I thought to myself.

Still, Vandie did not give up that easily.  She insisted I try – and so did I.  Eventually my body folded in two.  Not completely, but it was a start.

“Now, roll yourself up and balance on your butt bones.” she instructed.

“Oh no – I won’t – cuz I can’t” I thought to myself once more.

But I tried.  Nothing.  I tried again.  I couldn’t even move.  “Do what you can.” instructed Vandie.

I thought about it again.  I tried.  Voila.  I did it!

And this is how my fitness class with Vandie progressed today.

I learned a lot today.  I learned about my body, my strength, and how chemo has affected my muscles and brain.  I learned that:

– if I think about a move long enough, the message will get through my brain and into my body

– my muscles have become very rigid and I need to stretch them.

–  I am progressing slowly but surely

– fitness is essential to heal

– Vandie is patient, caring, and wise.  (Okay – I already knew that!)

I don’t know how I would have learned these lessons if I had not pushed myself back into fitness.  I am so very grateful that I have this opportunity to regain my physical fitness.  What a mess I would have been in if I had not tried.  And I didn’t even know it.  Truely, one never knows what one is capable of if limits are not pushed and opportunities are not taken.

I may not be able to touch my toes yet – but I know I can stretch my limits!

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in cancer, fitness, health and fitness, inspiration, life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And touch your toes

  1. Amen to stretching your limits Stacey! I love that last line the most!

Leave a Reply

