Stronger, faster, fitter?

Fitness

Used to be easier

Four more, used to be achievable

Push ups, sit ups, chin ups

Are only a concept right now

But

I keep trying

To take deep breaths

And continue to move my feet

I have to keep trying

Still

It is frustrating

I used to be so much better

I used to lead the class

Now I follow

Yet

I go

Whenever I can

Because it is only with persistence

That I will be better

I need to hang in there and listen to “them”

The other ladies in the class

Who

Are fit

Have been going to fitness for such a long time

Who are supportive

And encouraging

And help me

To

Become stronger

Become fitter

Become healthier

Feel good about myself

Through

Fitness

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in cancer, fitness, personal journal, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Stronger, faster, fitter?

  1. Yes, from an Army stud who could do all that, to not being able to manage 1 sit up or 1 pull up, it was disappointing, but on the plus side I have not fallen down in months, I can walk with my wife at the grocery store (can’t carry anything but my cane), I can dress myself, feed myself, vacuum, sweep, dust! Not exciting, not dazzling, but functional! God bless you, keep at it!

  2. Pam Fitzsimmons says:

    Hi, my name is Pam. I’m a couch potato…”hi Pam”

    When I read your posts about Vandie (love her!) and how you are struggling, I feel so guilty. You are struggling because of your surgery and chemo treatments. I would be struggling because of laziness – no excuse, just lazy.
    I remember Vandie’s classes and how hard she pushed everyone, but not past the point she knew we could get to. You have inspired me to get up and get moving again…perhaps I could convince Vandie to have a beginner’s guide to fitness 🙂

    Thanks for the kick in the butt Stacey!

    • inmycorner says:

      OH, Pam. I am so glad that you are willing to get up and get moving again. You just need to get started. Sometimes I think I will just go to fitness and stand there if I have to – I just need to get there and Vandie does all the rest. I know she has spots available this summer. Would love to get into shape with you! Thanks for reading this post today and offering me the encouragement I needed.

  3. kiwiskan says:

    I hope you’re saving all your posts to put together one day as a book. Would be an encouragement for others

  4. RoSy says:

    Keep going – you got this! 😉

Leave a Reply

