Three Gratitudes

What does it take to be happy?

There was a report on the news last night that actually answered that question.  It came as no surprise, though, to discover the suggestions:  be grateful, offer praise, and reflect.

I have, throughout this cancer journey, found great relief in that I can find what’s “right” in my life.  I don’t know if this is something my parents taught me – or something I learned in the classroom as a teacher to not just survive the bad days, but thrive.  Whatever the origin, I am grateful that I have this mindset.

Once again, I am reminded of my parents’ words to me, “Stacey, you need to count your blessings”.

This is something I heard over and over again.  So – I do.

It is too painful to focus on the negatives and it only serves to dig me into a deeper hole.

Imagine – if happiness could be achieved by simply changing a thought pattern?

Actually, it makes sense.

The brain is such an amazing organ.  It can actually re-wire itself to form new neural pathways.  It’s almost like the brain has a mind of its own.  And thinking patterns that most often used are the ones that are more closely fused.  The patterns become “entrenched”.  In following, then, the more often a person is grateful, the easier it becomes to be grateful.  On the other hand, the more often a person is negative, the easier it becomes to be negative.

It snowed again this morning.  In fact, there is a blizzard happening outside my window as I write this post.  It is April 23rd.  The robins are a bit snow-struck.  The school busses are late.  Sigh.  I am being put to the test.

So, I need to put my money where my mouth is.  Here it goes.  I am grateful that –

1. I have a roof over my head

2.  I have food in my belly and;

3.  I have an ability to be able to stay home from work.

Yes.  There.  Happy?

Now – let me just check on how late those school busses are running!

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in cancer, gratitude, personal journal, priase and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Three Gratitudes

  1. kiwiskan says:

    I assure that changing thought patterns really works. For many years I had recurring depression from things that happened in my life – then someone showed me how to change the messages I was giving myself, and the change was amazing…

  2. RoSy says:

    We must indeed count our blessings.

    • inmycorner says:

      RoSy!!!! You are back. So nice to see / well, read you again! Thank-you for reading and commenting!

      • RoSy says:

        HI Stacey!
        I’m kinda’ back. Things get crazy with the girls in sports & my son ready to graduate HS.
        Will always try to make my visits as I get a chance.
        Hope you had a great Mother’s Day.
        {Hugs}

      • inmycorner says:

        Oh, RoSy – I think we are two peas in a pod! As I recover, life is getting busier. I miss having the time to reflect on life. I don’t feel as “together” as I do when I write. Thanks for visiting when you do! I had a wonderful day down memory lane! Hope you enjoyed too, busy lady.

Leave a Reply

