It takes a community to cure cancer

Of course – before we rang the bell – I had to say a few words to the people who have supported my family and I throughout this journey!  You know me.  It was a beautiful day – and a beautiful gathering.  Photos will follow – I promise.  (Technical difficulties)

“A colleague of mine explained to me once that the one thing that I taught her was the undeniable power of community.  She was referring to me teaching.

Over the past eight months, I have been a student and cancer has been my teacher.  And as a student, I have come to understand that cancer taught me the undeniable power of community.  You are all part of that community.

You have supported, encouraged, and inspired my family and I.

You have cooked, cleaned, brought books, and made quilts – for my family and I.

You have written, phoned, texted, and face-booked me to let me know you were there – for my family and I.

You have cried with us, laughed with us, and guided us.

You have poked me with needles, poisoned me, and through these efforts and professionalism, you have ultimately saved my life – for my family and I.

You – my nurses, my colleagues, my friends -some who I have know for many years, my cousin, and my family have given me a new life.

I am now in “remission”.  I was looking for “cancer-free”.  But that cannot be.  And that’s okay – because of cancer I have reconnected with all of you.  I have discovered the power of friendship and that you all took care of me when the going got rough.

A friend of mine looked up the meaning of remission.  It comes from the Latin word:  Remissio – meaning freedom.  And with my new freedom, comes great responsibility – I have a responsibility to live – for you and for those who could not including Stan and Floyd Sinton, Ward Charlebois  and those in our lives who we have all lost to this disease.  I promise you I will try to do my best to live out my days in gratitude, faith, and love.

To my children:  Benjamin, Katya, and David – you were my greatest inspiration.  You were with me all the while through the tears, laughter, trials, and tribulations.  You are strong, good people and I am proud of you.  I need to live for you!

To my husband – My rock.  You made a promise to me nearly 24 years ago, and that was to love me in sickness and in health.  You kept your promise.  You were with me through 8 chemos, surgery, through long nights and long struggles with depression.  You listened, you loved, and you supported me.  I made the right choice in a husband.  To say thank-you is a grossly under-stated thing to do.  Let me suffice it to say, “I love you.”

And on that note – It is time for the bell.  Since I was not alone in this journey I would like Kevin, Kayta, and David, and by face-time, Ben to join me.  This bell is for me – and it is for you. It is also dedicated in the memory of Stan and Floyd Sinton.

One – two – three…..”

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in cancer, community, inspiration, journal, non-fiction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to It takes a community to cure cancer

  1. Gwen K says:

    So happy you could ring that bell so loud and clear. Happy new day!

  2. hopebringsstrength says:

    While reading this JOYOUS message of Heartfelt Gratitude I cry my own tears of JOY for you! I love crying happy tears. I feel as though my head and heart are working together simultaneously. You have fought this war with incredible ferocious grace and determination. You shared moments that were raw and painful and silly and comforting. I have never known anyone that make us feel and understand the way you have. You held our hand and let us join you through the darkness into the light. I hope that we brought you a tiny bit of strength and hope along the way, because you have inspired us beyond measure! No life worth living is ever a straight flat line. Climb those hills and navigate those winding pathways my friend. You have so much more to discover and enjoy. “Carpe Diem” has never been so relevant a phrase. “Free, Free at Last!” Much Love to ALL!

    • inmycorner says:

      Oh, my goodness, Deb. These are powerful words all on their own. You, my dear, are the one who has inspired. You are the gifted writer. You are the strong one. Thank-you, all the same, for these kind words. I find it hard that you are referring to me when you say these things – but so very glad you got something out of the blog! Carpe Diem indeed! Thank-you, Debbie, for your support throughout this entire journey.

  3. kiwiskan says:

    I’ve always loved the joyful sound of bells – and this one sure is joyful…

  4. pepe says:

    Congrats for ringing the sweet bell..happy to see you doing it 🙂

  5. I love the picture! I love the words! I love the bell ringing! I love that you did this !!!!!!!! Congratulations Stacey on your new freedom!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ❤

  6. Kathy says:

    👍 😃

  7. Dawna says:

    WOW—when you said load and clear, I could hear it from here. Congratulations Stacey for having the strength not only for yourself –but you showed and delivered–the courage and strength to others that are walking down the same path.

  8. Gallivanta says:

    Ring, ring, ring! A joyous sound, indeed.

  9. RoSy says:

    You are blessed to be surrounded by wonderful people. And – they are blessed to have you in their lives too.

Leave a Reply

