A Far Off Dream

Yesterday – I thought Stage IV cancer was a death sentence.

Today – I know it’s not.

Tomorrow – I will begin a new life in remission.

Yesterday – I had no idea of my own strength.

Today – I fight with all my might.

Tomorrow – I will do what I had only dreamed of only months ago.

Yesterday – I did not know the true meaning of friends and family.

Today – I am comforted by their love and support.

Tomorrow – We will do what we had only dreamed of only months ago.

Yesterday – Kevin promised to love me, “in sickness and in health”.

Today – I know Kevin keeps his promises.

Tomorrow – Kevin and I will do what we had only dreamed of only months ago.

Yesterday – I worried what would become of my children.

Today – I have confidence in their strength of character.  I am proud of them.

Tomorrow – We will do what we had only dreamed of only months ago.

Yesterday – I cried.

Today – I pray.

Tomorrow – I will rejoice and celebrate.

Yesterday – The bell on the wall of the oncology waiting room at Royal Victoria Hospital was a bell that only other people would ring at the end of their chemo.

Today – I know that bell is waiting for me.

Tomorrow – I will ring that bell for me,  for my family and friends, and for all those who were not able to ring the bell themselves.  Tomorrow – I will ring that bell for all of us – something  we had only dreamed of months ago.

(This post is dedicated to my husband, Kevin and to my children, Benjamin, Katya, and David.  I love you all very much!)

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in cancer, family, inspiration, journal, personal journal and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A Far Off Dream

  1. Gwen K says:

    Tomorrow is the end many of us have been dreaming of and praying for over these many months. May all your tomorrows be bright. Love to you all.

  2. Jan says:

    What a wonderful posting, Stacey.
    See you at the bell!
    xx
    Jan

  3. hopebringsstrength says:

    You can now dare to dream… and hope… and plan… as you ring in a new beginning! A future so bright and so full of possibilities, may it always be wrapped in Love. Much Love to you today and ALWAYS!

  4. Marsha says:

    Beautiful post – I have enjoyed your blog so much and I’m so happy that you get to ‘ring the bell’

  5. RoSy says:

    Live it up Stacey! 😉

Leave a Reply

