Six White Tulips

Six White Tulips

Six white tulips sitting on the step

The first I planted quickly and will grow so soon I bet

Kevin called me over and he said,

“Five more tulips sitting on the step”.

Five white tulips waiting there for me

One was planted carefully and rejoiced that its root were free

Kevin summoned me over and reminded me he said,

“Four more tulips, sitting on the step.”

Four white tulips soaking up the heat

I dug another hole – I would not admit defeat

David wagged his finger and looked right at me,

“Three more tulips looking to be free.”

Three white tulips reminded me of Mom

One was from my daughter and two more from my sons

Kevin brought the shovel and wiped away my tear

“These are for the memories and inspiration for this year.”

Two more tulips waiting next in row

The flowers are just budding, the blossoms soon to grow

Kevin watched me falter, he knew I’d hesitate

Last fall I’d only wondered if this spring would be too late

For this last tulip to open and for its bud to bloom

I thought the cancer would end my life too soon

But here we are together in the garden in the sun

And it seems that winter’s over and finally spring has sprung.

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in cancer, personal journal, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Six White Tulips

  1. Dawna says:

    Hi Stacey—–we left spring in Hilton Head and came home to the same—absolutely love spring and we have a chance to enjoy the season twice—how special it that.

    May I take a minute and wish you all the best on your last round of chemo. Make sure you ring that bell loud and strong.

    Prayers will continue

    • inmycorner says:

      It is beautiful. Dad would not have liked this spring, though, as the snow melted too quickly – not good maple syrup making weather! I would have been happy that it was quick! Thank-you, Dawna – if all goes well I will be finished Tuesday by around 3pm. I WILL ring that bell loud and strong! Prayers are very much welcomed and appreciated!

  2. Gwen K says:

    Great way to spend the day.

  3. OMGOLLY! That was amazing! Plant and grow Stacey!!!!!

  4. Leah says:

    This was great to read. Although, I kept thinking, are these the tulips I vaguely remember seeing covered in snow in a photo? Yikes! I hope they’re alright!

Leave a Reply

