Living the Dash

From Diagnosis…

LIVING THE DASH

…to Remission

There have been several individuals who have suggested turning my blog into a book.  I’m sure many people attempt this.  Nonetheless, I am soliciting your help for valuable feedback and constructive criticism.

Here is my first question:  do you think this title is appropriate?

The idea is that I would extract days “between the diagnosis and declaration of remission” that may outline some highlights of my journey.  Others may find comfort in finding that someone else felt the same way or experienced the same thing.

I welcome your thoughts.  Please.

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in non-fiction, personal journal, Story and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Living the Dash

  1. Gwen K says:

    As you yourself have stated many times, that dash can be very insightful. I’m sure that there are many who could find encouragement, support and comfort in knowing they are not alone in their own “dash” journey. I certainly think it can show many a positive path for their own journeys, whatever they may be.

  2. It sounds good to me as a title.

  3. kiwiskan says:

    I like the title, and I do think it would be helpful to others…

  4. April says:

    I always gain information from how others have dealt with their diagnosis. I went from diagnosis to remission in one day. (early detection) It was a whirlwind and I have struggled with my mortality since. I like to read how others live in spite of the possibility of recurrence because I want to learn to live.

    • April says:

      what about Living in the Dash?

    • inmycorner says:

      Wow – one day!!!! I get the struggle. It doesn’t matter how long the challenge is – the roller coaster just goes faster. OH – April – I want to learn to live too. Thank-you for your feed-back. It is very intriguing to hear of your journey too! (maybe the word intriguing is too cavalier – but I hope you know what I mean)

      • April says:

        The worst part for me was the personal advocating. I had a “borderline” size lung nodule that my pulmonologist told me not to lose sleep over. I went for a second opinion and the doctor said it should be biopsied due to the appearance of it. I went in for the biopsy hoping for the best. The surgeon said that they would check for preliminary cancer cells while I was under…if those came back positive, he would take a segment of my lung. I woke up and was told it was cancer. However, I didn’t have to have any other treatment except ct scans every 6 months. I don’t receive the words remission from my doctors, they just say that at this time, there is no evidence of disease. Maybe we can both find a way to live and stop worrying.

  5. I love the idea of a book. And I like all three suggestions for titles. Glad I don’t have to make the decision! 😉

  6. Gallivanta says:

    Living the Dash sounds good to me because it seems more outward looking than In My Corner. Although I do like In My Corner, too.

  7. pepe says:

    Its a great idea Stacey, your stories will surely help some one else..I like ‘In My Corner’ better than ‘Dash’ as it sounds more closer to you, stories from your side or may be its because i am used to the name of your blog. Just my opinion 🙂 waiting eagerly for your book then.

  8. hopebringsstrength says:

    The Book is a MUST! Both titles have great significance and meaning. I look forward to the read 🙂

  9. RoSy says:

    I like the title.
    And – you sharing your story will be helpful to others in helping them to understand what someone goes through / can go through during that time.

Leave a Reply

